Grytine

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Czech Republic, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia (Slovak Republic)

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/04/2019 - 29/09/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    My name is Grytine (or Christina if that's easier, or Canteen if you're my little nephew ;)). I'm a 27 years young woman from the north of The Netherlands.

    This spring and summer I'll be travelling by train and bus to various places in North Eastern Europe. I'm looking forward to live and work with people via WorkAway, because I'd like to engage in a particular lifestyle to experience a country instead of merely seeing the touristic hotspots.

    I'm an active and enthusiastic hard-working person, eager to learn about myself, others, and our surroundings every day. I love being outside, either walking, cycling, hiking or photographing.

    My specialities: enjoying coffee moments, writing & reading, and baking pancakes :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I grew up on a family farm with my brothers and sisters, helping my father with the cows, calves, chicken, cats, stable, and fields, and assisting my mother with the household tasks. I really enjoyed all the practical stuff besides going to primary and secondary school.

    Later on, I studied International Development at Wageningen University. In 2013 I graduated as BSc and in 2018 finally as MSc!

    Besides my studies I had various jobs and volunteering positions, in The Netherlands as well as in Belgium and Romania. Especially being a voluntary project officer in a youth organisation in Romania for one year has been a great and memorable experience abroad. From then onwards, my passion for children/youth, education/coaching, (Eastern) Europe/the world, and the beauty of volunteering became more and more clear to me.

    After the MSc graduation, I started my first 'real' job as a program coordinator. I facilitated a program for secondary school students in which they received homework assistance and educational workshops.

    Now it's time for a long-cherised adventure: travelling through Eastern Europe to live and work with various persons in various places, to learn even more than I already gratefully did :)

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch (native), Frisian (native), English, German (basic), Romanian (basic).

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    Let's sum up some random things which make me smile and feel grateful:

    - Walking outside while it's even far too windy to even get somewhere
    - Dance like crazy with crazy friends
    - Funny foreign phrases
    - Playing games with my little sister (even though she always wins them...)
    - Drinking beers with my brother
    - Surprises
    - Taking care of plants like babies
    - Babysitting (real babies)
    - Sunshine
    - See(k)ing greatness in the smallest things

    Curious to get to know you and your surroundings, hope to meet you soon!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback