Marina

  • Germany
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Super Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    France - from Nov 2021 until Feb 2022
    View all
  • Description

    My name is Marina,
    My languages are fluent German and English, basics in french and italian (understanding) and some Spanish vocabulary.
    Retired at the end of 2014, I was used to work in a medical practise in radiotherapy. Raising my children while working kept me busy many years. The two boys are Engeneers now and done with their studies.
    Having my family in Berlin and around Dortmund, Germany, I used to spend my time in Berlin during the summer and fall, renovating my gardenhouse including insolation, painting outside and making my own wine and jams which are always different from standard. Keeping the garden in shape is one of my favorite tasks. At my flat I love baking cakes who are sometimes made up for special ocassions in various shapes and colours.
    Having interest in traveling and music (classic, Jazz, Opera and any well written music) I could also be helpful with older people, driving them, talking, reading and playing like Rummycub.
    During the winter 2021 I would love to travel to more southern destinations, like France, Espana or Portugal again, helping in gardening, conversation, cooking, teaching my mother language German/Deutsch or English, being a granny in a household. From now on I might travel with a friend who is a retired captain with knowledge of ships, small and big and is a talented gardener and allrounder in small repairs. He is about 3-4 years younger than me. I love cycling, playing Tennis and fishing. My favorite dogs were two Rhodesian Ridgeback ladies in Portugal, the chicken and sheep on the quinta. Caretaking of those animals and pruning trees was one of my favorite jobs while the landlady was on several business trips.
    2015/2016 I drove about 14.000 km in my campervan from Berlin to Portugal and back and enjoyed it very much.
    The winter of 2021we like to being housesitters or company for a family. Traveling with a simple campervan we would like to get housing for the time of our stay. Looking forward to work 4 hours on 5 days a week, being flexible...

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • More details about your skills

    Fluent in American English and German (Motherlanguage). Few French, Spanish and Italian.
    Excessive gardening incl. pruning fruit trees.
    Taking care of children and seniors. Love driving cars and scooters and MTB.
    Using time for Portrait and nature photography, Publishing a few.
    Experiences in Painting walls and metal fences and gates, repairing plastered walls, laying tiles.
    Cooking and baking are also my favorites.
    I was also working with wood (from small projects like birdhouses up to building a bunk bed/platform).
    Office work was my job, organizing my main task, being friendly and openminded,
    worked also as receptionist at front desk at a surgeon, computing for research, knowing the medical nomenclatura,
    During winter 2016 I took care of 6 sheep, about 19 hens and two strong but very friendly dogs in Portugal on a quinta and enjoyed that very much.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Age

    70

  • Nationality

    Deutsch German

  • What else ...

    I could be a companion for elderly people, reading and discussing as well as working with children. Always liked to travel. I worked as Leading person at the administration of a Radiotherapy (hospital) and I helped to organize also an international congress in Berlin in Medical science many years ago.
    Now I am free and open to new experiences, hoping to learn more from people in different countries and being in the fresh air. Radiotherapy happens to be always in basements! So during my free time I always enjoyed to be outside. I love dogs (had years ago two of them), cats and other small animals, never experienced horses or other large animals. But ... I am curious to learn even more. I love to play tennis on a moderate level and sometimes I go fishing.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Diabetes

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback