Glenn

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Mexico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/03/2019 - 30/06/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    I'm a friendly and fun loving Australian travelling through beautiful South America. I am on a 1.5 year trip which started in March 2019. I love meeting new people, and sharing stories from around the world. I am passionate about Technology and computers, as well as building, specifically wooden furniture. I am also very interested in sustainability including energy generation and farming.
    I am an adventurist who loves the outdoors and experiencing nature first hand.
    I grew up in country Victoria in Australia where I lived on a Horse farm until I was 12, and then moved to a lovely beach side town for School. I have spent my later years living in the city and although I get out to the wilderness from time to time, I do miss the country life.
    I have worked in customer service for most of my career and specialise in team management. I am a genuinely helpful person, it is one of my strongest qualities. I have a lot of patience and love to teach my knowledge to others.
    I am an animal lover, especially cats and dogs, but also horses since my childhood is filled with many great memories. I am also a nature lover, and enjoy growing edible plants which is a never ending learning experience.
    I love to cook with people and learn new cuisines as well as eating local foods in every place I visit. I am a beer and wine lover and don't mind a quiet enjoyment with company.
    I am new to workaway and have completed a 3 week stay at a Bolivian farm where I put my carpentry and furniture building skills to good work. I thoroughly enjoyed this experience and wish to share more time and skills with other workaway families. I have a great work ethic and don't like to leave jobs half done. I'm confident my history, past experience and my attitudes toward life speak for themselves.

  • Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am skilled in customer service and team management. It's been my career for the past 12 years and is something I'm passionate about.
    I also have quite a broad knowledge of construction and building, as I have assisted my father with building our family home. I am also a wood worker, specifically with furniture. I studied engineering and enjoy designing strong structures in my furniture. I am proficient with using many power tools, as well as gardening equipment and have operated machinery in the distant past (tractors, mowers, etc).
    I am very knowledgeable about technology/computers and love all things cyber and tech.

  • Languages spoken

    I am a native English speaker, and am learning Spanish during my travels. Currently I speak the spanish of a 5 year old child and growing! I like to speak in spanish but I can only use more basic words. My vocab is growing every day :)

  • Age

    35

  • Nationality

    Australia

  • What else ...

    Don't let the beard fool you, I'm actually not a caveman who shaves his cheeks. I'm only part nerd, but I'm full science geek. I am capturing my travels on my instagram page @glenn_dub please visit to see where I've been to and to gain more insight into me.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I eat everything and I'm not fussy

Photos

I love this picture, it shows my character quite well.
A project I did at home for myself. Bridal and lap joints used to create a super strong structure. Local Blackwood was used.
My first project. A strong fence to hold back the llamas from the new flowers and established bamboo. Pallet pailings and recycled timbers for the rails. And some strong prefab concrete posts dug in.
A simple fixed couch needed a back rest and cupboard doors to access underneath storage. Made using lengths of plantation pine.
A shelf for the fridges and microwaves in the four apartments at the club. Also some cup holders mounted to the wall.
An empty bathroom needed filling with furniture
Bamboo wall to create a storage cupboard under the stairs
A solid table after it’s first coat

Feedback