Cristina & Niels

From: Italy & Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Mexico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    27/06/2019 - 26/06/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi there from a very a-typical couple :)

    We are Cristina and Niels (27 years old).
    Cristina grew up in Moldova, but matured in Italy while Niels grew up in the Netherlands. We met in Lithuania 5 years ago during a university exchange. Since then we have been exploring the life together.
    We are fluent in English, Dutch, Italian, Romanian, Russian, German and Spanish and lived in 13 different countries ( 4 of which we have experienced together).

    We share the hungriness for adventure, for knowledge, the curiosity about different countries, places, cultures, cuisines, history, art, sports and outdoor activities.

    After finishing our studies we dreamt of going to travel the world but of course we needed some sources for that. Cristina has worked for an NGO in Poland for a while before we ended up working in Austria for 1,5 years.
    Last may we decided to go for it, quit our jobs and book a one way ticket to Mexico. We have no time limit and just know we would like to slowly go south while discovering new places and cultures, learn new skills, taste new food, contribute/share/give and exchange as many things as possible, be physically active, meet interesting people and make it unforgettable.

    We have no fear for hard working and are open for any kind of experiences.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Cristina has a passion for cooking, even with a strong italian background, she never misses the chance, when possible, to prepare and share with the others the moldavian cuisine, in order to let more people know about her little colourful native country's culture.
    Within the 2 experiences with Helpex*️ (similar to workaway), she has learned how to build straw houses, gardening, the maintenence in the house and the surroundings. She can be creative and handy at the same time.
    A natural problem solver and a good eye for details makes her a good organizer, planner and manager.
    Several experiences of working with kids, teenagers and eldery people taught her a lot and made her feel good as well. The thing that brings her the most energy is working with youngsters, especially in the area of non formal education (teaching through games and activities).

    Niels has a passion for the outdoors and loves to be active while including other enthusiastics. Skills that would be great to use for any workaway experience could be repairing used objects (always used to repair bycicles in the Netherlands), organizing activities for groups, building and creating new things, gardening and cooking. Also understanding what people want and need could be a very useful contribution.

    During the last years while working and living abroad we have learned that good communication is the key to make it work anywhere anytime.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Italian, Romanian, Russian, Dutch & German.

  • Age

    27 & 27

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback