Gaby & Jake

From: Canada & United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    21/03/2019 - 31/10/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    787

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi! Jake and Gaby here,
    We are travelling around and want to find some amazing experiences!
    Jake has spent the last 4 years working for a sailing company and I’ve spent the last 3 years travelling around the world, we met in Greece about a year ago!
    We are a hardworking, easygoing, clean, reliable and fun couple!
    Between us we have a wide range of skills we would love to share and we are ready to learn about everything we can get our hands on!
    We are ready for new challenges and to make lifelong friendships, we can’t wait to meet you and your team!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Jake:
    I’m a calm, easy going, hard-working, 25 year old taking sometime out to travel and gain experiences with my girlfriend Gaby.
    For the last 4 years I've been working on yachts as a qualified sailing instructor and skipper in the Mediterranean.
    While working here I have been in charge of maintaining the yachts which included diesel engine maintenance, plumbing, sail repairs and general cleaning.
    In addition to working with paying guest/students, I've been responsible for up to 13 yachts and often upwards of 50 people at any one time. I'm a responsible person who has developed excellent customer service skills
    As a sailing instructor my job was to run week long courses/exams where I would certify students up to RYA Day skipper level, while teaching I had to work by my own initiative to plan and organise lessons tailored towards the weather and the students strengths and weaknesses.
    Previous jobs I have also worked include:
    - Hotels as a waiter, breakfast prep, cook and housekeeping
    - In shops doing till work and stock
    - Gardening and tree planing around the UK
    - Selling advertising for a tourism website
    - Helped out on friends sheep and cattle farms
    Gaby:
    I am a creative and dedicated 23 year old Canadian ready for adventure! I am fluent in French and English as well I have a basic level of Spanish.
    I have had a tone of jobs in the last few years and Work away has been an awesome way to connect with people (unfortunately I don’t have many of my references because I needed to make a new profile to have a couples account with my boyfriend).
    Here is a shortened list of my past jobs
    - Tree planting around the UK
    - Flotilla Hostie (regular deep cleaning and total inventory of yachts, sail training with inexperienced sailors, airport greetings, organized group activities)
    - Waitress & bar staff
    - Hostel work (receptions, breakfast prep, housecleaning)
    - Qualified dive master
    - Farm hand ( I have worked on a various farms via work away and I was one of three employed on a professional dairy farm in Australia)
    - Au pair to a little boy with severe special needs
    - Lifeguard
    - Swim instructor & fitness instructor too all ages!
    -Camp counsellor
    All these jobs have helped me gain excellent customer service skills, develop quick learning techniques, maintain hardworking habits and a passion to continue trying new things!

  • Languages spoken

    French, English and very basic Spanish

  • Age

    23 & 26

  • Nationality

    Canadian & English

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Profile is connected to:

sasakat


Photos

Feedback