Sue & Steve

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/08/2019 - 31/10/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    We are a mature, multi-skilled couple (British and Australian) who left the UK in March 2015. We intended to take a year out travelling and house sitting - nearly 5 years later the odyssey is as exciting as ever. We are now seasoned house sitters, combining this with Workaway experiences in France, Australia and New Zealand. We are currently booked on house sits until mid August 2020.
    We've been in New Zealand for over 3 years and are both officially residents so permitted to work. Having travelled throughout both islands we have decided that the Otago region ticks all the boxes; we especially love the mountain scenery, huge rivers and lakes. We have a good range of skills to offer our hosts - carpentry, building, landscaping, gardening, painting, animal care, admin, housework etc. - and can work independently or as part of a team. We are also open to learning new skills and feel that the Workaway experience, including socialising with our hosts, enriches our lives. It's a great way to broaden our knowledge and understanding of the Kiwi lifestyle and to gather information about a local area.
    We prefer rural or semi-rural settings to cities and are passionate about the natural environment, especially things like minimising waste, recycling and sustainability. We both love cricket and rugby, hiking, cycling, occasionally canoeing, being surrounded by nature, 'the sea', animals generally, also films, history and art. We were both self-employed in the UK - Steve as a carpenter/joiner and Sue with a garden maintenance and painting/decorating business. We are practical, hardworking, fit and active non-smokers, and we have our own car.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    As above, we have experience in gardening, animal care (domestic, horses and farm animals), property and swimming pool maintenance, secretarial/administration, carpentry, building, painting and decorating.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    67 & 61

  • Nationality

    British and Australian

  • What else ...

    We prefer to have a separate bathroom and fairly private accommodation if possible. Please note that we are booked on house sitting assignments until mid August 2020.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback