Falko585

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Norway

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2019 - 31/03/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    233

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi there, I welcome you on my profile :-)
    On paper I might be a graduated Mechanical Engineer, and other people might think I should have a well-paid office job and building a career for the next 30 years. Well, I did that for a few years... but in real life I am an outdoor maniac! It was only a question of time until I had to break free. At the moment I am enjoying my regained freedom, travelling this beautiful planet.
    I am into all kinds of outdoor activities, but I could never live without hiking. I usually do long distance hikes for a week or longer, carry all my food and sleep outside. My second weakness is rafting, which is currently my chosen source of income. It's a happy coincidence that at the same time it provides so much fun :)
    At the moment, the combination of working in a foreign country and exploring rural areas is my magic formula to happiness :)
    Since my farewell from the office I've had various seasonal jobs, including me working as (in chronological order):
    - a Stone Age Camp host in Switzerland
    - a Snowshoe-, Ski- and Aurora-Guide in northern Norway
    - a Rafting Guide in Austria
    - a Dog Musher in even further northern Norway
    - a Rafting Guide in Austria (again) and
    - a Rafting Guide in Honduras
    - a Rafting Guide in southern Norway

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am very good with my hands and don't mind physical work. In fact, I do it with full commitment. Then, in the evening, I like to relax and enjoy the pleasant feeling of a hard day's work. If you want to make me super happy, you give me work outside, where the fresh air gives me an extra boost.
    All kinds of house maintenance I learned from my father. He always found ways to improve our house, and he always expected my help, which was NOT always my plan on weekends :-) Still, I renovated two complete rooms with him, covering walls and ceiling with plasterboard and wallpaper, laying tiles on the floor. Outside we regularly cut trees and bushes, chopped wood and set up 2 terraces. He also taught me how to use most power tools.
    When interacting with people, I bring out another side of me, i.e. the entertaining and easy-going Falko. Getting in contact with people from other countries is always enriching and fun for me. Luckily, as a rafting guide I can share one of my passions with lots of random people from all over the world.
    Last, I am very keen to learn new languages. I have to admit I am a bit of a grammar freak and like to get to know the structure of another language. While I am mastering English pretty well, I am still trying to reach Intermediate level in Spanish and Norwegian. If there is anybody out there who is brave enough to tackle German as a foreign language, I will be more than happy to teach and explain.

  • Languages spoken

    German, English, some Spanish, some Norwegian

  • Age

    34

  • Nationality

    German

  • What else ...

    My secret dream is to own a small wooden cabin one day and be self-sufficient. So I am eager to acquire skills in all areas of self support like farming, gardening, permaculture etc.
    I would also like to gather more experience in the field of language teaching, as this is something I really enjoy and hope to be doing until I'm ready to check out :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      none

Profile is connected to:

Meggis


Photos

Working on a melon farm in Zagora, Morocco
Sharing a moment with one of the lovely sled dogs
Standing under the Victoria Falls, excited to raft down the mighty Zambezi
Doing my best on the mighty Zambezi

Feedback