Ethan & Claire

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/01/2021 - 21/01/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    (Ethan)Hello all! I'm new to the workaway community and eager to start traveling and experiencing new ways of life. Prior to this year, I was attending the University of Wisconsin River Falls studying environmental science. However, I had to take a year off because I'm also In the army national guard, and this year's training schedule would've had me missing too much school. So for the past year I've been working for the Conservation Corps doing habitat restoration/preservation type work. Now that my term with them is ending in December, I'm looking for work out west in hopes of maybe finding a place to start the next chapter of my life. I've always loved being outdoors, whether its for camping, kayaking, rock-climbing, frisbee golf- you name it. I'm motivated by making a difference in my community. Sharing my experience and knowledge in environmental and sustainability practices to help create a more green Earth is a passion of mine. Wherever I go I bring with a positive attitude and forward thinking mindset, which I've been told is contagious.
    (Claire) I am currently a student at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and am studying Journalism, French, English and Art. I worked in child care for four years with children ages 4-11, but I have spent the last two years working as a waitress/ bartender. I am the copy chief at my university's student run newspaper, where I manage a staff of 15 copy editors. I am inspired by creativity, nature and spirituality, so I live my life with these things in mind. I am very passionate about art- particularly ceramics and painting, though I dabble in many mediums- and writing- both journalistic and creative styles. I am always in search for my next story, life experience and adventure. Like Ethan, I enjoy any activity outdoors and am extremely hard working, flexible and positive. Together, I believe we make a great team that can accomplish anything that is needed of us.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Language practice
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    (Ethan)I've been working since a young age doing all sorts of different jobs such as, landscaping, roofing, painting, sales, invasive species management, tree pruning and removal, gardening, habitat restoration and preservation. I also have limited experience in wood working, graphic and web design, and carpentry. My army background has also given me great leadership and teambuilding skills. I would say above all else though that I'm a hard worker. Give me a task and I'm going to try to get it done far ahead of schedule.
    (Claire) I have four years of experience working with elementary age children. I learned to teach various subjects and activities while keeping groups of 15 students engaged. I led games, experiments and art projects. I am a journalism student with experience in photography, videography, blogging and copy editing. I am an artist and writer who has created various DIY projects and art pieces. I have been collegiately taught in painting and ceramics. If I don't have the skill you are looking for, I am a fast learner and can pick up any skill quickly!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    I (Claire) am currently pursuing a bachelor's degree in French. I have studied the language for a little over 6 years and lived in France for a month during 2017. I would say I am at an intermediate level- not quite fluent- but I am willing to teach what I can! We don't know any other languages, but we would both be open to learning!

  • Age

    22 & 21

  • What else ...

    (Ethan)I like to do anything outdoors. I love hiking, biking, kayaking, canoeing, rock-climbing, frisbee golfing, backwoods camping. I would also consider myself a bit of a movie buff. Another hobby I enjoy is playing board games like Catan or chess.
    (Claire) I also love any kind of game, and am always willing to teach or learn new games. I practice meditation and yoga, and I try to read as often as I can. In my free time I paint, create art projects, listen to music and write.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback