Erin

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Mexico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2019 - 30/06/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Erin and I am a young Canadian with a passion for knowledge, shared teachings, community and working to preserve & empower our natural world. I am hoping to expand myself in all of these capacities and much more through exploration and being a part of other’s lives and journeys. I have a science background and just started studies in sustainability management, as I have a deep love and passion for nature and am striving to learn more within this realm while exploring other cultures, climates, histories, etc.

    I have now been travelling through Latin America for about 4 months and have experienced a few Workaway settings in small, sustainably striving communities working with various techniques of development and management of their natural resources. It has been amazing living as intentional community, as well as with a family on a small organic farm just outside San Jose in Costa Rica. I have so thoroughly enjoyed these experiences and the mutual expansion that these opportunities provide, I am excited to continue sharing and growing together and improving my Spanish of course!

    We teach each other, we are each other. I am another you, you are another me. =)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    - Experience working in small intentional community settings and with organic farming, helping with various gardening and permaculture techniques, fruit and vegetable harvesting, looking after chickens and egg collecting, helping build a house in Super Adobe bioconstruction format, compost management, material recycling and management, various arts projects and lots of cooking!
    - University graduate with a science background. (Kinesiology degree: the study of human movement including studies in anatomy, physiology, genetics, therapies, sport management, nutrition, disease management and care, etc.)
    - Service industry in various roles over the last 12 years working directly with people, including 4 different types of restaurant environments, every position from cleaning tables to bartender to management positions.
    - 3 years experience with program creation, directorship, marketing as well as teaching/coaching through multifaceted role as program creator/director, marketer, events management, assistant coach, etc. In most recent job position.
    - Helping run business management of financial goals, administration, hiring, training and day to day supervising of other staff and goings on.
    - Very hands on, I love making things whether practical or artistic!
    - Experience with tools, gardening, housework, manual labour, etc

  • Languages spoken

    English, A little French and learning Spanish

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    Excited to meet everyone along the way!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Mostly vegetarian diet, minimal refined sugars & gluten

Photos

Feedback