Emiel

  • Netherlands
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hey! I am a dutch student from the TU Delft in the Netherlands, who finished his bachelor early in the year. This causes me to have several months with no obligations and plans. For me the opportunity to do something interesting and with my time and to leave the flat and overpopulated Netherlands.
    Every year, the summer holiday is my biggest highlight. Mainly because it is the opportunity to be outside in nature and visit new places, instead of the basic desktop-study days. To combine those aspects with helping people sounds like a win-win to me, which is why WorkAway attracted my attention.

    I enjoy a lot to go camping/hiking and being out of the house. For some years, I've been active in climbing and I love to go mountaineering in the Alps. Last months, I've been on multiple kayak trips, of which some of them included a night in the tent, giving me the feeling of a mini-holidays, which I enjoyed a lot. Nevertheless would I like to leave the country for some weeks and see places.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Farming
    Sustainability
    Animals
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Music
    Technology
    Culture
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
  • More details about your skills

    Since I am studying at a technical university, I've some basic technical know how. I am fit, so I don't bother any physical work. I am quite handy with some DIY stuff, altough I am far from a proffesional. Painting, using hand drills, fixing stuff in my student house, etc. I live together with 15 other students, which I enjoy, so I have some social skills :). I speak Dutch, English and Norwegian. I am trying to learn French, but that's a long-term project. Yeahh, what to say....

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Norwegian bokmål: Intermediate

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    Altough I like my own country, the possibility to go everywhere by bike, the sober people, I am looking forward to move awary from this densely populated country with all its rules :). I would like to have a stay at a place where I could learn new skills, be outside a lot, have a laugh with people and enjoy what I am doing. Basicaly experience a different cultural and demographic surrounding. After the summer, I'll do a master in Industrial Ecology (sustainibility). Although I am looking forward to this, I am far from ready to start a serious working life. That's why I want to get out, before I will end up in the serious working/studying flow :). A roommate is from Portugal and he told me fantastic stories about his life along the coast. It seems to be a good destination, since I've never been in this country and I usualy don't go this far south. A lot of coastline, hillsides and warmer temperatures. Maybe I can even start wave surfing during free time...

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback