Daan

From: Belgium

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Myanmar, New Zealand, Philippines, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/10/2019 - 31/05/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi everyone :)

    I am Daan, a 25 year old guy from Belgium who's travelled and worked all over Australia for the past 2 years. Now that my Oz adventure has come to a close, I have set my eyes on exploring Asia for the next 6 months. Although I love seeing all the beautiful sights and places what I'd really love to do is have a handful of workaway experiences where I stay for a longer period so that can learn some new skills, really immerse myself in the local culture and make friends along the way :)

    Some experiences I'm looking forward to:

    - Work in a hostel where I can surf
    - Teach english at a local school
    - Improve my photography
    - Help with an environmental or building project

    Suprisingly I am not absolutely perfect but I do think I can offer something remarkable as I feel like I've grown so much. 2 years ago I graduated from University with a degree in business management. So I did what every graduate student would do, I booked a one way ticket to Australia and decided to throw myself into the deep end and travel by myself.

    Why, you ask? On the one hand because the prospect of getting an office job seemed to me extraordinarily unappealing. But foremost because I felt I myself was lacking personality and confidence. So my intention was to rip me out of my comfort zone and force myself to really take matters into my own hands.
    In my wildest dreams I couldn't have imagined the journey I have been through. I've been attacked by snakes (classic Australia haha), got a near-death experience in the australian desert, worked ungodly hours in the forest, lived on top of my car for 3 months, gave lessons in chess to dozens of people and hiked canyons till the sun was down.

    While I sit here reminiscing, I get an immense feeling of gratitude, for all the experiences but most of all for all the people that I've met. While I considered myself an introvert, I've made 100's of friends and I now walk this earth with an attitude of "Every stranger is just a friend you haven't met yet", which makes life so much more interesting and pleasant.

    I realize though that the only reason I was able to experience all these things and have it mean so much to me is because I started to seriously work on myself. A couple of months in my travels, I still felt like I hadn't made much progress as a person and that simply moving halfway around the earth wouldn't change a thing.
    Since then I've quit smoking, started to exercise and meditate daily, I clean up after myself, eat fresh and healthy meals. This shift in discipline completely changed my attitude and I became much more confident to be open, friendly and interested towards other people.
    So in conclusion, 'what makes me tick?' I suppose it's as plain and simple as meeting new people, learning new things and sharing awesome experiences, preferably in nature :).

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    🎊 Event organizer - I'm someone who loves sports, doing activities and exploring. It gives me most pleasure if I can involve other people in this and make sure they're having a great time as well. Over the years I've organized countless hiking trips, beach trips, temple exploring and much more. This Christmas I organized the Christmas Lunch in the hostel for 20 people, which was a challenge but with the help of other travellers turned out great :)

    🏋️ Sports coach - I love sports and excercise. It never fails to put me in a good mood. When I was younger I used to be a football coach and although in the beginning I had no clue what I was doing, I learned so much and felt very rewarding to motivated and see the improvement in my players.
    Because of travelling I now mostly work out alone but occasionaly I organise workouts, runs or games with other travellers I've met. And ofcourse I enjoy pretty much all team sports.
    When I don't live in a tropical country anymore I will become a ski instructor.

    📸 Photography enthousiast - I enjoy taking pictures of everything that interests me. I especially like portrait photography, I love the excercise to playfully find a balance in bringing out the best in both the subject and the background/environment.

    🛠️ Handyman - To my own suprise I've found out I'm fairly good at building things and enjoy working with my hands. Every summer I work at a festival in my city and me and my friends have to build our bar up from scratch. It's almost my favourite part of the festival, because every year we seem to do it completely differently and add extra touches.

    🍜 Chef - I can cook a delicious Spaghetti carbonara and bolognese. That is if I can believe my italian friends ;)
    When I stayed in hostels, one of my favourite things to do was to walk around the kitchen and asking people what they were cooking. This way I got to taste and learn how to cook so many different meals :)

    💻 I.T. - I'm quite good at working with computers and general office applications. While I did my internship at a law firm, I ended up spending quite a lot of time updating their antiquated digital file database as well as their computer setup.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Age

    26

  • What else ...

    I'm a chess master. Not technically but after 100's of games against people from all over the world during my 2 years of travelling I remain unbeaten. This is a feat I'm particularly proud of ;)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      I love all foods but I try to eat healthier every day (less sugar and meat mainly)

Photos

Feedback