Shannon

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ireland, Italy, Portugal, Thailand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/06/2019 - 20/08/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi! I'm a hiker, rower, teacher, and proud aunt looking for an opportunity to explore new places, learn new things, and share my passions with new people.

    I’ve been a teacher for 20 years, and although I love my job and my students, I’m feeling a need to explore the places my great grandparents left in order to come to America. I’m looking for opportunities to join a family and a community and help with English language learners, work with children or help create outdoor adventure programming for children, learn about a new community and try new experiences, learn Italian, connect with my Italian and Irish heritage, and to be inspired by others!

    As a teacher, I’m very comfortable working with children. I also have experience working in outdoor experiential education. As an athlete, sports come naturally to me. While I am not necessarily trained in farm work, sustainability, photography, house renovations, or building projects, I am interested, motivated, and willing to learn!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    -childcare (games, trips, stories, activities)
    -instruction in social-emotional learning (activities to help children learn how to work together and problem solve)
    -experience / adventure based education
    -rowing - crew
    -photography (a hobby of mine!)
    -art (sketching, painting, crafts for kids)
    -sports (basketball, running, canoeing, swimming, biking)
    -knitting (my grandmother taught me)
    -adaptable (I'm flexible with daily needs/expectations)
    -self-motivated
    -responsible
    -resourceful
    -creativity (problem solving, activity creation)
    -varied interests (always looking for more hobbies and skills to add!!)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Age

    44

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I'm pretty adventurous - I'd love opportunities to explore the countryside and go hiking when I'm not working. I am curious and willing to learn - if you have the patience to teach me! If you have any questions, just ask!!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am a vegetarian

Photos

Me with a friend in Massachusetts
A photograph I took when on Stromboli for hiking
A photograph I took on a hike in Ireland
At a brewfest with my sister and cousin
Rowing on the Delaware River
Rowing with a friend

Feedback