Corinna

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2019 - 30/11/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    During 20 years of employment with the United Nations, I lived and worked in the US, Angola and Sierra Leone, and visited many countries in Africa, Central America, East Asia and Europe, both privately and for work. I returned to Germany in order to help care for my elderly and severely disabled father for eight years until his death. My 90-year-old mother has since moved into an assisted living facility, and I am now looking at future options for myself. Workaway allows me to travel and experience different settings and ways of life while taking time out to reflect and recharge. I love the company of animals, long walks in nature, and quiet time at home. Any workaway opportunity on a small farm, nature reserve or animal sanctuary is of particular interest to me. I am responsible and willing to learn whatever skills are necessary to care well for your animals, home and property.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • What skills do you have?

    My practical skills are somewhat limited as a lifelong urbanite and office worker, but I have at least some experience in looking after people, animals and homes. I volunteered on a pony farm in my youth, did agricultural work on an Israeli kibbutz and was a live-in nanny after high school, financed my education by cleaning apartments, had caregiving responsibility for my parents, and lived with cats for most of my adult life. All of my cats came from rescue situations which often entailed health and behavioural issues, and I am very willing to look after animals with special needs. I am also a member of a housesitting service and have looked after other people’s dogs and cats while travelling. Last year, I had my first workaway assignment helping out on a farm with eight horses, seven chickens, three dogs and five cats, as well as a large vegetable garden. And in November/December, I worked in Greece at an animal rescue centre with more than 50 animals, including dogs, cats and donkeys. Besides caring for the animals, the work included daily maintenance of the property and gardens. I have never worked with power tools, but all else I will happily tackle with the right set of instructions.

  • Languages spoken

    English, German

  • Age

    55

  • Nationality

    German

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback