Colette & Daniel

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Denmark, France, Italy, Norway, Portugal, Romania, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2020 - 01/04/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Colette is 35 years old and was born and raised in the south of France from a British father and Swiss mother. This makes her the lucky holder of 3 passports! After her university studies in England she lived and worked in Geneva for 10 years mostly as an English and Theory of knowledge secondary school teacher. She then moved back home for 2 years to help with the family small holding and holiday accomodation business during which time she enjoyed welcoming workaways. This is how she met Dan :)

    Dan is a 33 year old Englishman who has spent much of the last 8 years travelling and working seasonal positions all around the globe. He completed a degree in outdoor education however decided not to pursue a career in that direction and instead has gained a multitude of skills from many jobs, mostly in construction and hospitality.

    We met in October 2019 and have been living in France together ever since. We have decided to relocate, however we both want to take a little time out to travel, work, learn more about ourselves and discover other people in other places doing other things.

    We are both curious, open minded and well travelled, in search of a simpler way of life. Our shared interests include travel, food and wine, music, nature and outdoor activities.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Colette is excellent with children of all ages, good with animals and has lived on a small holding so has some knowledge about gardening. She knows her way on computers and especially on online marketting. With the family holidayrental business she has lots of experience with cleaning, cooking and serving food for large groups, making beds, organise furniture and receiving guests. She also has more than 10 years teaching English as a foreign language.

    Dan is also good with children and animals. His professional life has helped him gain a pretty decent knowledge in construction including carpentry, masonry, painting, roofing, landscape gardening, tree surgery and general maintenance. He has also taught English as a foreign language, worked as a tour guide and in all kind of hospitality roles including as a waiter, barman, restaurant manager, event coordinator, cleaner and a kitchen assistant.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. Please contact them directly to discuss this with them.

  • Age

    35 & 33

  • What else ...

    Colette is a pretty decent cook and loves to cook for others and Dan is a pretty gifted dishwasher.

    Dan has always enjoyed outdoor activities especially climbing which he introduced to Colette and now we both love doing it in our spare time!

    Dan loves watching documentaries and reading memoirs especially in travel, food and alternative lifestyles. He is a keen trail runner and tries to keep fit and healthy but is often trapped in the paradox between loving food and wine and fitness/health.

    Colette loves sharing life stories around a glass of wine or a cup of tea/coffee, she's an amateur dramatic and tries to keep sane by doing some yoga somewhat frequently.

    Generally speaking we are both chatty, cheerful and up for anything!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback