Carolyn

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/02/2021 - 31/01/2022

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello!
    I have had a great career in the hospitality industry, hotels and restaurants, (both in the USA and internationally) often building them from the ground up. The last 30 years and counting, (Yikes! how did that happen?) have been filled with creativity, quick thinking, short learning curves, intense organization and learning to create positive, productive & profitable environments. I know how to create beautiful, memorable experiences taking time to enjoy the steps along the way. I love to work with my hands, the outdoors, and am up for any task, (to be honest, bales of hay have been known to get the best of me). I have been fortunate to work all around the world so I easily adapt to my surroundings and love to submerge myself into local culture.
    I have traveled extensively, a new country every year since I am 21 years old.
    And now, I am taking the plunge to make my dreams come true. I have always wanted a Bed & Breakfast/ Villa in the hills of Italy! In 2021, the plan is to move to Italy and start looking for my new home! I would be grateful for the opportunity to spend more time learning about the land, organic gardening & farming, laws, etc.. I had 2 amazing Workaway experiences, one in Umbria and the other in Varese, Liguria in 2019.
    I speak Italian fluently, but of course still have lots to learn, am an overall contagiously positive and enthusiastic human being. I appreciate the simple things, the sound of the wind, good, simple food, prepared with fresh ingredients (I once worked with a chef who said "If you can’t make it with 3 ingredients, don’t make it!”) and never taking the same road twice if possible.
    Perhaps the greatest lessons I have learned have been from nature! Life always prevails and her secret is patience.
    With the current climate of Covid-19, I know that the future is uncertain. I wanted to put the word out hoping that our world will once again be open to travel and new experiences in 2021 if not sooner!
    Thank you, and I look forward to this new adventure!
    Carolyn

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
  • What skills do you have?

    I am very creative, handy, love animals, children, and the outdoors. I work very well with people, am nurturing, caring and detail oriented. I truly believe that once shown how, there is nothing that is beyond my comprehension and ability. I have a great head for business and hospitality.
    I am a certified yoga teacher having completed a 200 hour YTT course in India! I also have a wonderful meditation practice.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Age

    51

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I speak Italian fluently, and lived in Italy for a year. Italy, especially the green hills of Umbria, is one of my 2 favorite places on this earth. My ultimate dream is to own a Bed and Breakfast in Italy so I am open to learning everything there is about maintaining a home, working the fields/gardens, making wine, cultivating and maintaining olive groves, restoring a home, etc...

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Lobster

    • Special dietary requirements
      Prefer to eat vegetarian when possible.

Photos

Feedback