Mandy

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Barbados, Canada, Cuba

  • ...

    Travel dates

    27/07/2018 - 24/08/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello,
    I am Mandy, 40 years old, married and mother of two sons. Although we are a super family and like to travel together I need to do an experience on my own. I want to improve my English pronunciation and grammar to teach English correctly in primary schools. I would be glad to have the opportunity to combine work and acquiring language & culture awareness.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    In my previous jobs I worked always in a team and got in touch with different characters. I had also to deal with customers and now studying at a university requires also to be open-minded. As a mother my organisation skills developed over the years. I am interested in other cultures, stories, lifestyles and so on. My family and I adore to travel. Maybe I cannot point with some special skills or DIY projects but I am willingly to help and learn. My life is structured through an early wake up, struggling to get a 16 and 11 year old to school, preparing for university, studying, doing my small job for a professor, cleaning the house, doing the laundry, cooking, and caring for our small garden. Over the week I am alone with our sons as my husband is always away on a job. So I can get along and need to sort out what to do first. As I usually plan the day, plan the meals, explain the whole life to my children, and so on, I would be happy, if someone instructs me. I can come with new ideas but can also be quiet and do my job. My last hosts said I was a sunshine on rainy days and I have a can do/will do attitude….

  • Languages spoken

    fluently German, fluently English (but far away from perfect), a bit Spanish and French

  • Age

    40

  • Nationality

    German

  • What else ...

    I am studying to become a teacher for primary schools. To teach English I need to improve my language skills and awareness. I am interested in social structures, daily life in your country, and culture.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am on a seafood diet - I eat everything I see :-)

Photos

Feedback

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more