Tobias & Katharina

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Denmark, Norway, Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    21/04/2019 - 02/10/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    We are a Family of three (Kathi, Tobi and almost 12 months old baby Mattis) travelling along the baltic coastline and Scandinavia with a van for about five months.

    Back home Tobi works for a big chemical company, his background is chemical engineering. Kathi is a medical doctor working for a non-profit start-up company, helping patients to decrypt physician letters and make them understand what their disease is really about (that's acually quite a lack in our health system).

    When Mattis was about to be born we felt the urgent need to escape from our small flat in the city and our day-to-day routine. So we bought a travel vehicle, took a parental leave and took off as soon as Mattis was old enough.

    Whenever we have the chance we love to get in touch with locals to learn a bit more about their real way of living in the place we are visiting. We are trying to vary from standard tourist patterns and are always interested in seeing something of the beaten Track.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Tobias:
    -born and raised in a family running a craftsmen business has a good general understanding of everything that has to do with manual work
    -he also had the chance to gather experience in landscape maintenance
    -university-trained as a Chemical Engineer, now working as production manager of a chemical plant, is used to lead teams and take ownership for his tasks and projects

    Katharina:
    -raised in a family with 1 sister and 2 brothers
    - voluntary year in an environmental sector after school (in German it is called FÖJ :))
    -she is trained as a medical doctor but right now she is at home with our nearly 1 year old son Mattis
    -before taking a parental leave she was employed in a small social start up, which helps people to understand, what illnesses they have and how they could change their lifestyle to improve their situation
    -while studying she also worked in a museum with school classes to introduce them to biological topics and helping them to gain some practical experience
    -besides her profession she is very interested in doing artisan work like knitting and sewing and is also interested in gardening (but doesn't have that much experienced right now)

  • Languages spoken

    German, English ... Kathi: intermediate language level in French

  • Age

    30 & 31

  • Nationality

    German

  • What else ...

    Interested in all kinds of outdoor activities e.g. kayaking, rock climbing, hiking

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Pollen, Cats/Dogs with access to our sleeping room (only a problem if they have also access to the sleeping room resp. our bed - caring about cats and dogs is fine)

    • Special dietary requirements
      Katharina: Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback