Bernhard & Judith

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    16/02/2019 - 03/04/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    203

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    HELLO THERE :)
    We are Bernhard and Judith from the Netherlands. We were looking for adventure and decided to live abroad for ten months. We choose Spain because we like to learn to speak Spanish (we began studying already!) and because of all different possibilities. We want to share our life and practical help, learn something new, get work done and expand our boundaries.

    We would describe ourselves as positive and flexible people who like to meet other people. Bernhard enjoys sports and biking, Judith likes to dive, read and ride horse. Both of us like hikes, nice music, good coffeebars, fun card/board games and nature. We think and talk a lot about subjects that matter, such as climate change, social justice but also personal development.

    WHY WE WANT TO TRAVEL
    Currently we live in a beautiful town called Zwolle. However we want to experience live abroad for a while. We are curious about what we will learn and discover and who we will meet. With all the different types of projects we can do with Workaway there will be enough to do and also many skills to develop. Hopefully we can be of help in your eco project, house maintaining, family, garden or anything else. Also the sunny and warm climate, being near the sea and mountains and having more time for eachother, for reading, sports etc. is getting us enthousiastic for this 'move'. We also prepare ourselves for some dissapointments and maybe even some homesickness, we are aware it will not be like living in paradise every single day ;)

    ABOUT WORKAWAY
    The reason we will use Workaway is that it will help us meet new people instead of being with the two of us all the time and because we can't afford to travel without it for ten months. We are openminded about most of the projects. We both work in education and have a lot of cousins and nieces so babysitting or child care is a good option.

    Bernhard had his own vegetable garden and we both would love to learn more about that so gardening is something we really want to do, especially when it's with an Eco or Bio project. We would like to work with animals and we both enjoy to cook. Other options are language practice, building, general maintenance, help in the house or farmstay.

    We have talked about living in a tiny house, community and/or organic housing for ourselves and friends. Last years we were too busy with work and study to read and orientate in these subjects as much as we would have wanted. It's exciting for us to help with Workaway projects, to learn from practice and at the same time be of help for you!

    We are new at Workaway but have a lot experience with Couchsurfing and Airbnb. We see ourselves as guests and will behave like that, for example we will keep everything tidy. Communication is very inportant when living and working together with several people, we appreciate clear and open communication and feedback in both directions.
    You can check out our profiles on Couchsurfing and Airbnb to read our references:

    https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/judith1308
    https://www.airbnb.nl/users/show/18059191

    OUR TRAVEL PLANS FOR THE NEXT TEN MONTHS
    We will start our journey near Valencia, will spent the winter near Sevilla, probably will take a holiday in Maroc and/or Portugal and when it gets warm again we will go back to the north of Spain. We will make plans as we go, we enjoy that more than planning everything in front.

    We arive in Barcelona on the 4th of September 2018 and will stay in Spain until (around) the 30th of June 2019. Probably we will stay at a project for 3-6 weeks before we move on to a new place, but everything is flexibel.
    Hasta la vista :)

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    EDUCATION

    Bernhard is a teacher Geography in high school and Judith (Pedagogy) works in a high school to mentor teenagers and to lead a team of students to give the teenagers help with their homework.

    SKILLS

    We are not very technical people, but creative and innovative for sure and practical enough for most of the jobs on Workaway :) We can cook, clean, get work done in a garden or with animals and are able of basic house maintaining such as painting etc.

    These are some skills we would like to develop:
    - Spanish language
    - Learn about eco projects, sustainable living, living in community etc.
    - Salsa dancing
    - Drawing and painting
    - Building and maintanance (house/garden)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    32 & 30

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      We prefer to eat vegetarian (no meat)

Feedback