Benedikt

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Norway

  • ...

    Travel dates

    09/06/2019 - 30/09/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi my name is Benny (short for Benedikt),
    I just finnished my Bachelors (in Biomedical Engineering) and would love to spend some time before my Masters to help you on a practical level. For me it has always been really important to do manual work (preferably outdoors) in my freetime to compensate all the thinking i am doing (and also enjoy to do) during the day. That is why I spend a lot of time on the fields and in the gardens of my family, where I mow the lawn, cut trees and hedges, make wood, harvest fruits etc... I don't consider myself an expert in these things since i am mostly self or family taught however I think I am doing quite well. Also I enjoy watching movies, reading, going out with friends on the weekend, playing volleyball, hiking, driving, cycling, cooking, barbecuing...
    Of course I could also use the time between my studies nothing or lay on the beach in Bali and relax... however for me there is nothing more relaxing and satisfying than to work outside all day and have a good meal in the evening and be proud of what I accomplished that day. I am hard working and always ready to learn new things. I am calm, down to earth, focussed and people tend to overestimate my age since (apparently) I seem more mature. I enjoy good food, good talks and good beer, preferably all at once. I lived in a international community with 30 people in Amsterdam for a year and lived with 3-6 people during my studies. I can manage my household and would call my self a good cook. Americans tend to see me as the typical German since I have a dry sense of humor and am straight forward in my communication. I can handle stress and critique quiet well. I don't have any experience working or living with animals however I enjoy the company of dogs a lot and am definitely up for the challenge to work with them or other animals.
    I will not be travelling a lot in Norway before/after my workaway experience (maybe 4-7 days). I want to get to know the norwegian culture on a very personal base and experience the beautiful nature by walking in it and not just driving from sight to sight. As I said I really enjoy working manually, if there is time afterwards/on the weekends to do a bit of hiking, cycling or other activites I'd love that but if the work is longer on some days I really don't mind.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • What skills do you have?

    My family has a few fields with around 30 apple trees and 2 Gardens which I am working a lot in.
    I can cut down trees, work with a chainsaw, chop the wood, cut the trees in Spring for a better harvest, cut the grass at our fields. I have painted rooms, powerwashed stuff, assembIed furniture... I am a good cook. Also I am learning to work with metal in an internship for my studies. Most of all i am a quick learner and hard worker.

  • Languages spoken

    German, English, some Dutch

  • Age

    23

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No, also like all kinds of food and love to try new things.

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Me and my Girlfriend on one of our fields
On a tree cutting it for a better harvest
Barbecuing with self cut wood, engine broke, had to turn the meat manually for 2 hours :D
Hiking with the family
me (left) and my brother at christmas
Amazing family vacation to iceland
Apple harvest

Feedback