Ben

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi! My name is Ben, I am 22 years old from Washington D.C., and am looking to take some time to travel after finishing my undergraduate degree. While I have traveled a fair amount, I am new to Workaway but am very excited for the opportunity to meet new people and enjoy local cultures. I am planning to travel to France towards the end of the summer and stay through much of the fall with the main goal of improving my ability in French and spending time to learn and immerse myself in local culture. I have always loved opportunities to stay with a host or family who is willing to give me a look inside their way of life because I find these exchanges very valuable.

    I typically travel solo but look forward to the opportunity to meet fellow travelers and build friendships with my hosts! While I am very independent and organized while traveling, I am also very social and relaxed - there is nothing I enjoy more than sharing a long meal with new friends.

    I am a hard worker with experience in outdoor, physical labor including landscaping. I am also accustomed to living with a big family, including looking after young children. Personally, I particularly enjoy outdoor activity and sports, including hiking, biking, futbol, and tennis. I also like to cook and would love to learn new recipes, whether family favorites or cultural staples.

    Finally, I am fully vaccinated against COVID-19.

    I hope to meet you soon!

  • Interests

    Beach
    Sailing / Boating
    Water sports
    Team sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Languages
    Architecture
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Culture
    History
    Events & social
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Gardening

    Some knowledge of:  

    Teaching
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Babysitting and creative play

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I speak English fluently and Spanish very well, so I am certainly willing to help with your English or work on our Spanish together.

    I am very comfortable helping with kids, whether helping to teach or simply keeping them entertained. I grew up with two younger brothers, a number of younger cousins, and have also been a babysitter so I am used to working with kids. Animals are also not a problem, I have had a number of pets and have been around farm animals at various times.

    I am very comfortable with working in the kitchen, doing work around the house, and other chores. I also have some experience with woodworking, gardening, and landscaping.

    In school I studied international politics, film, and history so these are all things I enjoy discussing. I also enjoy organizing social events for friends and family.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I would very much like to improve my French and am willing to help others with English.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    22

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback