Anna & Rufus

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2020 - 01/12/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi,
    We are Anna & Rufus.
    We are a family of four from Bristol. We left UK, traveling to Portugal looking for work away.
    Anna grew up in a tight nit community in rural Hungary, caring for farm livestock, cooking big pots of food on the fire outside with singing and story telling as much a part of her heritage as her passion for plant medicine. With skills learnt from her Grandmother, she has an innate talent for growing vegetables, herbs, flowers and trees and knows how to best harvest, store, preserve and prepare them to nourish and heal the body.
    I grew up in a remote nook of South Wales with a close connection to nature due to my parents knowledge and love of organic food, low impact, sustainable living. Food was grown and water collected, we built a timber frame house and an outdoor compost toilet.
    I am Rudolph Steiner educated, where the focus is on the development of body, mind and soul as one.
    Merlin our 6 year old has been attending a Steiner School and we have been splitting the care of our 3 year old daughter Zahra and working for a live in Steiner care facility. Specialising in teaching children who are physically disabled and have varying mental disabilities.
    Since having our family we have enjoyed growing our own herbs, vegetables and fruits and making natural remedies and oils.
    We feel ready to welcome some change in our life and start a new and exciting adventure, so we have bought A van and are ready to travel to Portugal!
    We are looking to expand our knowledge and exchange our skills in organic gardening, eco building projects and animal care and well pretty much anything practical.
    Anna and I have always dreamed of a self sufficient sustainable way of life.
    We are very much looking forward getting involved with new projects and people.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    Anna can Drive, has experience with Gardening, making herb teas and oils. Interested in healing with plant medicine.
    I’m Creative and has experience building with natural materials, dry walling, landscape gardening, organic farming, decorating.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hungarian: Fluent

  • Age

    37 & 37

  • What else ...

    We both love to cook.
    We are organised, tidy and hard working.
    We are friendly & motivated.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

As a family we always create festival table to each season
Last year rosemary harvest
Calendula ointment
Landscaping project

Feedback