Alba

From: Spain

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    India

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/07/2019 - 24/07/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    My name is Alba Planchart, I am 18 years old and from Barcelona.
    I am currently studying Global Studies at UPF (Pompeu Fabra University) a degree that is trying to explain to the students how the world works in an interdisciplinary way. Thus, I am really interested in exploring the world and getting to know other realities. India is a place I have been always interested in, mainly in the topic of girls’ education: I even considered studying my 3rd year of the degree in this country.
    I collaborate with Amnesty International since I always try to fight for my beliefs and what I think is right.
    We are a group of 6 enthusiastic friends looking for new experiences and help as much as we can while doing so. The main field we are interested in is working with children’s but we are open to everything! We would also love to be involved in the Indian culture during our stay in order to learn about the culture and other realities to broaden our knowledge of the world.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    The main objective of the degree I am studying is to form people to work in a global scale, mainly in intergovernmental organizations, and I chose it because I am a curious and postivie girl who would love to work for an NGO in the near future. Since the degree is done in English I have been recently improving this language (apart from going to an academy too) and also meeting a lot of people that come from different parts of the world which has enabled me to get to know other cultures.
    I have experience in volunteering work: Currently I am participating in a university project (Horitzons) where we go to high schools and talk with the students about what they want to do in the future. In summer of 2017 I worked as a volunteer lunch monitor in a free summer camp for children (from 3 to 5 years).
    I have been working as a private tutor for teenagers for 3 years now, and thanks to this job I have gained more patience and responsibility.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish, Catalan and English

  • Age

    19

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback