Thomas

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Mexico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/03/2021 - 01/03/2022

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling


    Pura Vida! yoga cooking gardening , snorkeling , traveling , and meeting people

  • Description

    Have had so many different jobs and have really enjoyed most of them .
    I started working for my father when I was twelve in a family owned jewelry business. Later on I went to a gemologist school and became a jewelry maker and repair.
    Been a car and motorcycle enthusiast for many years . Restored corvettes, cameros, and later Harley Davidson motorcycles.
    Worked in steel mills as a welder and machinist .
    Operated many types of heavy equipment, cranes loaders , dump trucks, snow plows etc…
    Was a Water Superintendent public works director for a city in Utah . Maintained and operated water system as well as keeping system in compliance with federal and state regulations. Did annual budget and allocation and purchasing of new and leased equipment such as dump truck snow plows ,back hoe etc…
    My last full time job was in paper mills in Utah,Arizona and Alabama. I was a millwright, which translates to jack of all trades .
    Also been gardening since I was a young boy and eventually owned a farm for eighteen years. Had all sorts of animals but later on mostly chickens and ducks and geese and turkeys. Grew enough food to feed many families and sold vegetables at the farmers market and also directly from my farm .
    After a couple of car accidents I had to take a break and get healthy which is how yoga found me and changed my life direction. I became a yoga teacher in 2016 and went to India in 2019 to get a 200 hour Yoga teacher training certification. I have been teaching in two studio’s and a gym and before covid had planned on teaching via Workaway in Thailand Indonesia and Malaysia. Instead I have had opportunities to teach at a jungle hostel in Costa Rica and a resort in Mexico.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Books
    Music
    Photography

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    200 hour Yoga Teacher Training , accomplished in Rishikesh India.
    Teach Hatha , Yin and Restorative Yoga for the elderly. Pranayama breathing exercises. Meditation
    Have training in Tibetan massage and Reiki massage
    General maintenance and mechanical skills
    CPR certified
    Cooking vegetarian
    Several years working with the public
    International drivers license
    SCUBA certified
    Black Belt Shotokan Karate

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I’m learning Spanish and and am interested in a language buddy or cultural language exchange

  • Age

    56

  • What else ...

    Graduated from two wonderful marriages with two bachelor degrees in tough love!
    Helped raise three beautiful awesome daughters and now that they are grown and married I can travel and teach and learn and best of all meet new and interesting people from all over the world! We are all students, we are all teachers and we are all healers, and it is my desire to help heal and be healed with the science of yoga and meditation and nutrition.
    Namaste 🙏🏾

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Negative energy

    • Special dietary requirements
      No cadaver flesh

Photos

Feedback