Fish, forage and live off the land with our family in Haines, Alaska, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 62 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of three, sometimes more when you add in transient friends and family. We live on a beautiful and secluded 20 acre property. It is a sunny south aspect with a stunning view. We like to play, fish forage, and farm. Our property serves as the local ski hill in the winter and we are a self sustained farm in the summer. Between the trail building, gardening and animal care we are pretty busy most the time and could sure use a hand!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a family that subsists off the land, we fish, forage and live off the land. If you are interested in what life is like in Alaska then this is a great place to visit. Any workaways that come here will be welcomed as part of our family, they will learn how to cook wild Alaska cuisine, smoke fish, preserve food.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like a hand Monday through Friday, 5 hours a day. Weekends are free to play. We will provide lodging and meals and transportation. Attitude is most important, more important than skills! Be prepared to be outside most the time and physically capable to do gardening and animal care. We would love help building a new goat yard, harvesting our garden, preserving food, chopping firewood and building a sauna. We are also interested in anyone who has teaching skills, as this new school year begins a tutor would be very helpful for our two daughters ages 8 and 13.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are a few options for accommodations. We have a large Aframe building with tents set up on the third floor and we also have a camperised bus. There is a cook out building close to your accommodations and a full kitchen for eating family style in the main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many beautiful sights in Haines in fact it is one of the most beautiful places in Southeast Alaska. There are many mountain trails, access to the ocean and trails right out our back door. Our property is 35 miles out of town and we will provide opportunities to go into town or on other adventures. It is worth mentioning that Haines is not an easy place to get to and before you commit to the idea of coming here go online a research h the journey. Once you get to Juneau you travel here via ferry or a Alaska Seaplanes which has a fleet of small airplanes. If you are still up for the adventure and not daunted by the travel then contact us and we will see if you would make a good fit!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I am not sure what a digital nomad is but we do have a private internet shack that is used by our workaway friends.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of room and can accommodate RVs

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    It might be possible to accommodate a pet, please be sure to ask so we can discuss the possibility

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 997741414671