Help us with gardening and building in Alentejo

Country

Portugal

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    45
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/06/2017

  • Badges

Contact Register
  • Description

    Description

    We are three "girls" (aged 43, 15 and 13) living our dream of a down to earth life in contact with nature. We only just started three years ago so there is still a whole lot to do.
    All three of us are open minded and like to meet new friends and learn new skills. Still getting used to the heat in summer here - we lived in Switzerland for a long time (the girls were born there). This year seems to make it easy for us: exceptionally cool for around here.
    We look forward to meet new people and also to get help and support for the works around here. Working together is so much more fun.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    A lot of gardening, from setting up a garden to building hugelculture, etc.
    Then, if you have special skills / experience we could need some support in our newly build house (still not finished). all inside works such as plastering, painting, floor laying, etc

    However, in summer it is mostly about care of the surroundings and gardening.
    Care includes removing of the long, dry gras that is a danger (fire). Collecting wood from the hills (still there from the last cutting down of the shrubs). Removing the brushes that overgrow the hills and sometimes seeding new plants in their place.

    Help with building different things: shower and bath house, carport-like structures for shade
    Help in donkey-training, tend to the horses.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swissgerman, German, English, Polish, French and some Italian (and a little bit of Portuguese)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The (unfinished!) wood house at the lake or a tent.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The silence here is beautiful and unbroken - especially at night. The night sky is spectacular and you can immerse yourself in nature. We had three lakes made, all of which are full and wonderful to swim in (however, they are very young and the water is still full of clay particles - a great skin treatment).

    You can take hikes. Now and then we drive out to the city or the sea. You are welcome to join us on these trips.

    There is not much action going on around here that many young gals and guys like to have.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5



Host ref number: 985964854197