Help with land maintenance living by the water in a small village in Njurunda, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple in our fifties with 2 cats living by the water in a small village with 22 houses, mainly vacation homes. Four families live here permanently. Our 2 children are grown up and live elsewhere but often come to visit. We have lived abroad for many years but have returned to our homeland. We now both work parts of the year. We are a social couple, used to host people from other countries, and enjoy sharing our lives and learning about others. We are outdoorsy people and enjoy gardening, making our own skin care, fishing, diy projects around the house. We go skiing and iceskating in the winter.
    The village was founded more than 50 years ago by the hostess' father, an internationally known architect with focus on sustainability, healthy buildings with a holistic aproach. Being brought up in an ecofriendly environment makes us think of the footprint we make on this planet.
    His motto was:
    “We do not inherit the Earth from our ancestors; we borrow it from our children” - American Indian proverb

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living in nature in a basic way in northern Sweden, will give you an insight on the life in the country and as part of the village. We eat as much food as we can from what we can gather; berries, fish, mushrooms, vegetables. We rarely eat meat. We swim in the ocean all throughout the year, and enjoy nature in all aspects, outside our house, in the forest, on the beach, on our boat, and on the islands nearby. We cherish traditions and share ours, and we enjoy experiencing our guests traditions as well.
    We speak Swedish or English with our guests.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Your work with maintaining our home can be chopping fire wood, cutting the grass, painting, cutting down bush, gardening, picking berries or mushrooms, house maintenance, diy projects, fishing, using a chainsaw and more. We will make a work schedule depending on what kind of work needs to be done depending on the season while here.
    No qualified skills necessary.
    We do not allow smoking, drugs or alcohol.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Dutch: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We will be glad to help you practice your English and Swedish. We speak Swedish or English fluently with our guests.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accomodation is a simple cabin with one large bed and a smaller bunk bed on top. It has heating, electricity and a fridge. You have access to the bathroom and the kitchen in the main house about 100 meters from the cabin. There is no wifi in the cabin, but 4G is available. Bed linnen and towels will be provided. Meals are provided by us, and you are welcome to assist and to cook meals for all of us. There is a wood burning sauna in the village we have access to.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 12 km from shops, grocery stores, train station in the nearest town. We limit our grocery shopping to about once a week. It is easiest to come here by train or car. Bus transportation is not frequent, and nearest bus stop is 2 km from our house.
    Hiking in the forest or on the small roads and paths is nice. Bikes are here for you to use to explore the villages, beaches and area nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 985592782271