Help out at a hostel in Bucharest, Romania

Country

Romania

Favourited 317 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    956

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my name is Dan and I came to work at the Hostel as a volunteer myself back in early April and fell in love so much that within six months I had bought the hostel.

    The hostel is going through a bit of a transformation currently as we have reduced the number of beds, are putting in a café, and shifting the overall vibe of the hostel from strictly budget, to budget/boutique with a strong artistic feel.

    We are a small hostel with only 19 beds, located in a residential area, not far from the center. We currently have two hostel cats, but knowing myself there is a pretty decent chance that number will grow. The atmosphere we look to maintain within our hostel is a feeling of being home while on the road, and hanging out with old friends that you just met. If this all sounds appealing to you, then keep reading.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Spending time in a hostel will definitely broaden your mind about different nationalities and cultures! There is a large influx of people, so it's never boring. The goal is to ensure that you have at least 3 weeks here you will never forget. You will definitely be part of the Cozy family.

    We are fun loving people here and will help you with whatever needs you have. While here you can learn a lot about Bucharest and what makes the city so special.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for well rounded individuals who can help in a wide variety of areas.

    Your main weekly duties will include:

    Cleaning - Vacuuming, mopping, taking out the trash, cleaning up the bathrooms, cleaning up the kitchen, etc.

    Beds/Laundry - Stripping beds after guests have checked out and remaking the beds with fresh sheets, taking the dirty ones up to the attic and putting them in the washing machine, then coming up a couple hours later to take them out and hang them on our lines in the attic. Then taking them off the lines the next morning, folding them, and putting them in our covered balcony, before starting the whole process over again.

    Restocking Bathrooms - Checking on the toilet paper and soap regularly throughout the day to make sure that they don't run out.

    Keeping Guests Happy & Entertained - Our main common area is no longer located next to our reception desk so we will rely on our volunteers to hang out up in the common area during the evenings, socializing with guests and hosting some theme nights that we are going to be starting up.

    At times we will also look for our volunteers to help out working in the garden or with some minor repair and construction projects.

    We would like someone to stay for a minimum of 3 weeks so they can become part of our family here.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English a must but anything extra is fantastic.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is a bunk bed in the staff room, which you would likely be sharing with a 2nd volunteer. You'll have a key to the room and it's mostly private, however during the day the paid staff might need access on occasion.

    We also have a fully equipped kitchen, which you would have free use of during your stay.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bucharest is a beautiful city with many great attractions to enjoy during your time off. Also if you want an extended couple days off to explore Romania beyond Bucharest we can easily accommodate that. We are very flexible here and would love someone to join us for a few weeks.

    There will also be the opportunity for musicians and artists to play music in our café during the weekends or display your artwork in our café if you have some with you and possibly sell some of your work.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 984441299471