Enjoy Cajun culture and help with projects on my farm in Louisiana, United States

Country

United States

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/01/2020

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Past Workawayer, I have learned so much and had so many amazing experiences though this platform. Now that I'm settling down and starting a farm I feel it's time to participate on the other side of this.

    Main focus in the beginning of this farm establishment is developing regenerative rice and crawfish (Procambarus clarkii) farming practices. Goal is to grow into a diverse farm using regenerative agricultural and business practices.

    2020 Projects:
    - Begin apiary this year with 2 hives. Build hives, build swarm trap boxes, catch swarms.
    - Begin a veggie and herb garden
    - Build vermicompost and compost pit
    - Plant native prairie grasses for bee forage near my house
    - Plant various native trees and other plants around property
    -Plant cover crops on 2021 rice field
    -Develop rice weeding tractor equipment

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm a cajun, I can bring you to cajun shows playing cajun music and dancing, bring you to festivals if there are any happening during your stay, make sure you get your fill of good cajun food. Louisiana has a very unique environment so I will show you around and show you all the goodness.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for an engineering student to host that may be able to help in developing a mechanical rice weeder. This person will also help with other farming task. I ask 20 hours in return for staying in spare bedroom of my trailer. You will have you own bathroom and will provide food for 3 meals a day. I prefer someone who likes to cook so that we can take turns cooking. I enjoy sharing meals with others especially cultural meals.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Spare bedroom in my trailer, have your own bathroom. 3 meals a day. Expect to be able to cook sometimes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 983774358496