Help me to create a lovely garden near Monmouth, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/12/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have just built a house in the Wye Valley about 7 miles from the border town of Monmouth. The house is warm modern and light and you would have your own accommodation including a wet room, kitchen and access to the indoor pool. You would be welcome to eat all meals as with us but there is separate kitchen available for your use as well.
    The Wye valley itself is a very beautiful part of South Wales and we have excellent walking and off road biking on our doorstep. Monmouth provides a good cultural mix with the Natonal Theatre Streamings, a private cinema and numerous cafes and coffee shops. You can also Kayak on the Wye or visit one of the many castles nearby or Tintern Abbey itself.
    I am a wheel chair user following an accident in 2001 but work 3 days a week and am out for at least another 2 in an local office trying to write. my elderly mother lives with me now but I have an army of carers to help and live in care over the weekends, so there would no expectation of you helping with her except being nice to her and maybe doing the odd jig saw. My younger daughter is also with me at the moment as she is setting up a business.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Monmouthshire is full of Historic ruins as well as being very beautiful. Although we are very rural we are only an hour from Cardiff and 40 minutes from Bristol. Monmouth itsef has much to offer as described above and any plays, theatre or films I was attending the traveller would be welcome to join me.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Although the house is finished apart from the inevitable snagging list, the garden is not. I would be looking for someone who is a knowledgable gardener and would enjoy the challenge of working with me to create something lovely, bearing in mind that we have an ever expanding herd of wild deer who treat the raised beds as a breakfast buffet. There is the potential for a large pond or a bog garden as well as creating a big rockery and a wild flower area to bring in the wild life.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A large double room opening onto the patio and fields beyond. Own kitchen and wet room- all new and access to the indoor pool which has a resistance machine (Fast Lane).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You would have to have your own tranport as we have a very limited bus service.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 976285957523