Help out renovating, gardening and more! British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    221

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a plants woman and landscaper, homesteader and lover of life. I am attached to my ground and so enjoy learning about people places and other cultures through my interactions with my guests. I pride myself on my openness, honesty and generosity. Guests will be helping me on my personal property not a buisness venture.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am an open and honest host who loves to share my time and experience with my guests. I grow , process and preserve most of my food needs and enjoy cooking and feeding people. I live in the beautiful Cowichan Valley on Vancouver Island on the Penelakut First Nations reserve.I enjoy learning about people, countries and culture through my interactions with guests and have lots of life and practical skills to share with them.

  • Help

    Help

    I am renovating a hundred year old house and developing a permaculture garden as well as hardscaping. There are always many interesting projects on the go and I enjoy letting my guests pick and choose what they would like to work on. I have been a host for the past six years and have enjoyed the experience and have made many new friends. I have recently discovered work away and would like to try this as I am sometimes looking for more specific help. At the moment a carpenter or someone with some carpentry knowledge would be beneficial, the gardens will be producing abundant food by the end of July and so I would appreciate the help of a cook and someone who knows or who would like to learn about canning and other food processing techniques. I would like to have a week or two holiday in July or August so would appreciate a guest who would like to house sit for me and take care of the dog and chickens. Later in the summer and early fall...September, someone with wine making skills would be appreciated. And lastly a massage practicioner would be beneficial. I have great host references through other sites (ask me) and have enjoyed sharing my home, experience and beautiful valley to the many guests I have hosted and look forward to meeting many more

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a private room available for my guests in my family home. I am able to accomodate only one work away guest at a time or a couple. The room is clean and comfortable, and boasts an new Queen size bed. Camping is also an option for any one who would like .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live on the Chemainus Estuary and have a canoe available to guests as well as mountain bikes to tour the local trails. The Chemainus river is a short walk away and a wonderful place to beat the heat of summer. The Saltspring Island ferry is a short car ride away and many guests enjoy taking day trips over with the bikes. Tofino on the West Coast is another must see destination as is Victoria . The Cowichan Valley is a vibrant and artsy place with many wonderful Summer festivals

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 976239285259