Revive old farm in Hjørundfjord, Ørsta, Møre og Romsdal, Norway

Country

Norway

updated  

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am Tor Eirik and I am 38 years old. I have recently moved back to my family farm in the middle of Sunnmøre Alps, Møre og Romsdal to follow my dream. My girlfriend Jill and her little charming dog Milla will also stay here with me often.

    I have a panoramic view of the lovely Hjørundfjord. The farm have been shut down for some years and is a bit degraded, but we will bring this farm back to its former glory.

    We both use a electronic vape cigarette, but we didn't check the box for "smoker" although I believe it will qualify as smoking for some people.

    The farm is steep and have few areas where traditional farming equipment can be used, so very much help i'd love to get from you is manual or with small agricultural machines. I have some small fields with vegetables since I am very glad in growing my own food and like to see the farmland being used.

    I am starting off in 2020 with a few goats. I will be expanding as the time goes. Before that the animals needs to get their house fixed and prepared.

    My cat Kira is very cuddly and keeps mice away. Give her attention and she will keep you occupied. Milla, the little charming Yorkshire Terrier will melt your hearts.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will experience the life on a old farm by the fjord where the fields are too steep to be harvested by traditional farming machines. You will be experiencing one of the most beatiful areas in Norway and stay at a truly unique place.

    Tourists come from all over the world to this area to visit Christian Gaard and the famous swing, to see the fjord and the mountains and many of them go hiking.

    I work full time from 7 to 16 in weekdays where I design stamps and doorsigns for customers. Not sure if this qualifies me the title graphical designer, but it's what I do, so my girlfriend will do much of the daily contact with you.

    You will need to take the ferry to get back and forth from Trandal since there is no road to the "mainland". Getting around in this area is done by car. Public transportation is very poor from the ferry to the nearest villages. When you get to Ørsta, Volda or Ålesund things are different and you can ride with bus pretty much where you want.

  • Help

    Help

    The farm is at least 400 years old, but have been out of use for some time and need some care.

    The barn needs to be cleaned and needs new flooring. Some beams have to be replaced and reinforced.

    Trees are taking over the farm, so cutting them down and clearing areas are one of the main tasks, so it is a plus if you know how to operate tractor and chainsaw. From summer 2020 there will be around 25 cows and some goats on the farm. There is no need to milk any of the animals.

    I grow some vegetables, mainly potatoes, so tasks includes planting, weeding and harvesting plants and grass.

    I love trying new kinds of food and if you like to cook I will be very glad.

    Other tasks may be housekeeping, renovating/building, painting, take care of the cat , etc.

    You will need the ability to be independent since I leave for work weekdays between 7 and 16.
    This time of day can be planned so you go exploring the area.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian & English. Want to learn more languages.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house has four bedrooms at the moment, with the possibility for one more. One bedroom is best suited for one person or max two. Two larger bedrooms where one room holds 4 persons (or 6 max).

    There are two kitchens, three living rooms and but only one bathroom.

    Vegetables are grown on the farm, fish can be catched in the fjord, deer hunted in the mountains by dedicated hunters and the rest we get from the grocery stores. Meals will be eaten together (if you want).

    I don't know how to cook vegan food, so I prefer if you are a carnivore 😉

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will practically speaking stay at the destination of many peoples journey, and the area around Trandal is rich with things to see and do. It's a hour travel time to the nearest city Ålesund by car.

    Airports are located in Vigra (Ålesund) and Ørsta (10 minutes ferry travel and 20 minutes drive from Trandal)

    You can hop on a tourist passenger boat that will bring you directly to Ålesund in the summer time. In the summer there is a lot of things happening on Christian Gaard Bygdetun (10 minutes walk) , including three unique festivals, rock, blues and country, respectively in june, july and august.

    You can go hike in the mountains, borrow the boat to go fishing or exploring other parts of the area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-4 hours a day or as needed.

Host ref number: 972195537774