Petsitting and housesitting in Middelburg, on one of the islands in the south-west of the Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 167 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/11/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Petsitting and housesitting in Middelburg, on one of the islands in the south-west of the Netherlands, while discovering the beautiful old city, all the touristic places, the nice beaches (ofcourse by bike!). And don't forget to try 'haring' and 'paling'! In the summerseason it can be really crowded here in Walcheren because of the member of tourists that come here to spend their holidays.

    We are a family with 2 little girls and will be away at the time you will be here. So we have place for a whole family to stay. The house is in an area where cars are not allowed, a playground next to the house, a small garden with vegatables and fruits. Postoffice and supermarket 7 minutes walk from the house. The nearest beaches 20 minutes by bike or 7 minutes by car. The trainstation and citycentre is also walkdistance or you can go by bike. (you can use our bikes)
    What about petsitting? Oh, we have 3 cats. The black one (Indey or Yin) is a little bit handicapted (back injury) and can't really jump. She likes to go in the backyard which is surrounded. The white one (Bolle or Yang) is deaf and has a bladder problem once in a while. She also likes to go out but stays in the garden, on the fence or somewhere near the house. The grey one (Jewel) is very scared and likes to stay upstairs. They all like to cuddle.

    Everything you need is in the house. On the ground floor there is a livingroom with dining table, sitting corner, tv, dvd\cd player, the kitchen with microwave, fridge, cookingplace, and a toilet. On the first floor there a 3 rooms (one with a 2-person bed and one with a bunkbed) and a bathroom (with shower and toilet). On the second floor there's place for the kids to play or we can add a 2-person bed in there.
    Internet is also available in the house.

    We prefer you to come a few days before we leave. (we will leave right after Christmas) We have a wooden cabin in a small village which is about a 20 minute drive from Middelburg. You can stay there the days before we leave and maybe some days after we will be back (that will be at Friday 3. January). The cabin is in a big garden, surrounded by woods and without internet, TV, supermarket, bus, train etc. So this might be a problem for travellers without a car. The cabin has also 2 bedrooms, one with a bunkbed and one with a 2-person bed, a kitchen, a bathroom and a toilet.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can explore the Dutch culture, the really nice landscapes from this part of Holland, the fresh fish (haring, paling and mosselen!). You can visit the oldest coastal town in Zeeland, Domburg, the cleanest beaches of the Netherlands, the quaint little city Veere, Zoutelande, the big sea ships that are passing by Vlissingen and ofcourse Middelburg, the capital city.

  • Help

    Help

    Since we will be gone, we'd like you to take care of the cat, look after our house and the garden (you can eat the vegables and fruits ofcourse). We will make sure that you can app, call or email us anytime and the neighbour will also be there to help you out or answer any questions. Before, we will have contact by email, phone, webcam or whatever is needed to make sure that we understand eachother perfectly. We also prefer you to join us a few days before we leave.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As mentioned before, we have enough place to sleep. a 2-person bed in one room, a bunk bed for 2 kids in another room, and the second floor where we can add another 2-person bed if needed. If you are interested, we can talk about all the requests. We will make sure that there's enough food and necessities for the cat as well as address from the veterinarian. If you're able to join us a few days before we leave, we can show you around.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are looking for a responsible person(s) or family, cat lovers, which will treat the cat, our house, the neighbours, our stuff and the yard with respect. We try to live our lives in harmony with nature, so you will not find a lot of things out of plastic in our house. We try (or at least I do) to keep the house as clean as possible with (at the moment) 3 cats and 2 kids.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours/week- no food, 25 hours/week- food


Host ref number: 967397857115