We are looking for help to plant native trees back onto our dairy farm to improve waterways on South Island - NZ

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 109 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2019

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there, we are looking for help to plant native trees back onto our dairy farm to improve waterways, we are also starting very exciting projects so keep reading to find out more! Our aim here is to reduce the dairy farming to aim for a more natural way of living with the land. We want to show people how to use land in other ways that are more ethical and environmentally friendly. Come and help us change for the better! The dairy farm is run by Dan a single man in his late thirties but you will mostly be hanging out with me! I am Shannon a 25 year old female and I had this idea to bring workawayers to the farm because I have done it overseas before - and I loved it!! I would love to have people stay with me and help me with my other projects outside of the dairy farm. We are trying to begin other projects here on the farm such as community gardens, a nursery and setting up accomodation for future workawayers and visitors. It is only me working on these at the moment so I really need your help! There are plenty of cows around and nice walks for you to experience, I can tell you many things and show you to some nice places around the area.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about our native forest and wildlife, how a dairy farm and other farms work. We can teach you about New Zealand native culture (Maori) including the language, stories and history. I was a hiking guide for one year in the South Island so I have a lot of knowledge to share about hiking and the South Island too.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for one or two people to help us with some native planting, starting a nursery and community garden, and also cleaning out and fixing up a sleep out. We require 5 hours a day, 5 days a week and food and accomodation will be included. We are happy to pay any extra work done outside of these hours and for extra effort. We need people who are enthusiastic and keen for physical work in the outdoors, if you are a builder then that's a bonus!! If you would like to help me cook for us then that will be awesome too. We want honest people who really want to help us make a change away from the Dairy Industry! This is important because the planet needs us to start changing so we can all live here for many generations to come.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Shared accomodation with your own bedroom and double bed, you will be sharing the house with me (Shannon, 25yrs, female) and there is potential to have your own sleep out if it is cleaned and fixed up! You will have a double bed so if you are a couple or single this will work. If we get more people we can definitely get extra beds! The house is very warm and definitely a farm house, there is a fireplace, 1 bathroom, 1 laundry and 3 bedrooms in total. I have a HUGE pantry for food and the kitchen has everything you need! We are right next to the road but we have no neighbours and a garden for you to enjoy (which also needs some work).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Who you will mostly be interacting with: I am Shannon, 25 years old and I am a woman. I have spent time doing Workaways in Asia so I know exactly what its like going to a new place! It can be exciting and daunting. I have only had good experiences and I would hope I can provide the same for you. I have also travelled so I love to have travellers around. I am a pretty good cook and I eat vegetarian and very healthy food! You are welcome to cook your own meat but I will provide delicious, protein filled vegetarian meals! We are located in the King Country, the closest town is Te Kuiti a small town that has the basics if you need anything. We are 1.5 hours away from Hamilton and Taupo. It is isolated here so it will suit you better if you love the countryside, we have plenty to do and see! It will be essential to have your own transport if you are wanting to explore the area properly. If you don't and are happy to be here for most of your stay we can organise a pick up and drop off for you. We are also located one hour from Tongariro National Park, we are in the central North Island so it's a good place to explore all different coasts. We are 30 minutes drive from the Waitomo Caves and I am happy to give you local spots and ideas about where to go and what to see. I am a New Zealander myself so I can answer any questions you have about our way of life. I am happy to teach English and I also love yoga, meditation and life expanding conversations! We would love to hear any suggestions, ideas and experiences you have had to show us how we can make this land better.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 966377587327