Can you help us with some joinery/ carpentry skills to help finish restoring our ancient finca in Mallorca

Country

Spain

Favourited 55 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 20 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have been married for 30 years and in 2002 we made a big life changing decision and left our jobs and moved to Mallorca. Initially we lived on the coast and then bought and renovated an old farm (finca) in a Spanish village. Twelve years later In 2016 we sold our finca and fell in love with and bought a 500+ year old olive farm. The property and land had sadly gone into decline so we have spent the few years bringing it back to life again. We have nearly completed the house and are now beginning work outside in the garden and land. We have approx 35 acres of mountain with terraces of olive, carob and wild oak trees.
    We live here with our rescued family - three dogs and three cats, harry, lulu, Alfie, Doris, Beattie and bob.
    We are situated in the pretty mountain village of Galilea. There are beautiful,dramatic mountain and sea views plus total peace and quiet and fresh mountain air to enjoy!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Mallorca has a very rich and interesting history. The capital of palma has a beautiful cathedral and cobbled streets lead you through the fascinating old town.

  • Help

    Help

    We are keen to finish off the last few things in the house now and looking for someone who can help us with some carpentry/joinery skills. We would like to create a storage cupboard area in our entrance hall for coats, shoes, washing machine etc. Plus build a rustic outside bar area near the swimming pool!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a self contained suite within the house which has a bedroom with a lounge area, satellite tv, docking station, fridge and ensuite bathroom. This suite is accessed via its own private entrance with an outside seating area. There is central heating and air conditioning

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are surrounded by beautiful mountain walks and hikes. It is possible to walk from our doorstep to Galilea (15 minutes) which has three bars/restaurants and a church. You can also hike to two nearby villages along old dry stone path ways
    There is a local bus which goes to the capital of palma.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 961256424566