Farmstay in the West Chilcotin, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 50 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family (dad, mom and 3 teenagers, 19,18 and 16, the teenager are now mostly in and out) living in the remote village of Anahim Lake in the beautiful West Chilcotin. We’re on 80 acres right “downtown” Anahim Lake and have a host of animals. 10+ horses, a few cows, 4 dogs, 2 cats, 9 sheep and some chickens. We are involved in a variety of activities and jobs. We operate a small Guide business in the fall time, taking out hunters, doing trail rides in the summer and various jobs on the side as is the custom in these parts. We always have some projects on the go that we can use help with and the kids are great help. Also we think we could offer someone that's interested in the "bush" life a great experience!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a very welcoming family and I believe anybody that would come with an adventurous spirit and is open to all kinds of different chores would enjoy the stay.

  • Help

    Help

    That time of year is pretty busy for our family. We have our business, hunting from horseback, that goes from September until the end of October.

    So if you would like to stay with us for a while and experience life in a very suburban environment.......!. We are currently
    rebuilding/renovating a logcabin that we moved to our property last year so there will be some jobs related to that project. Also, help with hosting guests, cooking, maybe getting some winters fire wood or fencing, helping with yard chores and animals, getting horses ready for the pack trips. A drivers licence is also a requirements since there might be the occasional grocery trip to the next bigger town.

    That being said, our "must-have" list for volunteers would include: must like animals, likes hanging out and working alongside teenagers, easy going, honest.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and German (Swiss)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your accommodation will be a private room in an outbilding.

    There is no cellphone reception out here but we do have internet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As for local attractions on your time off - there are several lakes around here that are great for fishing. We have the Rainbow Mtn. close by for hiking and camping. In July you could take in our 'famous Anahim Lake Stampede".

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our backyard.
Beautiful late fall wilderness.
off on a little packtrip..:-)
Charlotte Lake. Beautiful Lake for a hot summer afternoon.
Host ref number: 958611955917