Help me with marketing and various community projects in the beautiful seaside town of Bagamoyo, Africa

Country

Tanzania

Favourited 54 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/11/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Dear all! My name is Teddy. I am a 48 year old Tanzanian woman based in Bagamoyo.
    I run a burger restaurant in the city center and also produce local hibiscus wine. Since my husband passed away a few years ago, I additionally started two community projects: I opened a women empowerment group where I want to teach them how to become an enterpreneur and depend on their own. For this purpose, I have a small shop next to the restaurant where we sell local products like batik fabrics, baskets etc. made by the local women. And I also wanted to give kids from poor families a chance for a better future by providing them african dance lessons. Once they are ready for the stage, their performances of the traditional dances will hopefully bring them an income. For the funding of these projects, I am very much dependend on the income of the burger restaurant and the wine business. Unfortunately, they bring hardly enough, that's why I am looking for help how to do a better marketing of my business and for a variety of other fields. I would be very happy to receive volunteers.
    You are more than welcome!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will deeply get to know the African culture and make new local friends. You can take part in African dance and drum lessons and learn how to cook Tanzanian food. You will also get the opportunity to drink local wine and get to taste a burger for free which you might be home-sick for :D

  • Help

    Help

    I could need help with:
    -setting up a website (for the restaurant, the projects etc.)
    -marketing (setting up aTripadvisor profile, creating and distributing flyers, do postings on social media)
    -fundraising (contact possible sponsors)
    -business plan (help us to work more effectively etc.)
    -farming of Rosella Hibiscus Flower and Casava (any knowledge concerning farming very welcome! for example how to make our farming more efficient)
    -photography (take photos of our projects)
    -teaching kids English and Art and other things you think are relevant

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swahili, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    single room in my house (with ensuite bathroom)
    Unfortunately, we cannot cover the costs for food, but you are more than welcome to use our kitchen or let us know if we can give you a lift to the supermarket :)
    Apart from that, there are many good and cheap food restaurants in Bagamoyo.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bagamoyo is only one hour away from Dar es Salaam,
    It is a very beautiful and historical city. There are various museums and old buildings such as the German Boma, the Catholic Lutheran church and the Post office to be explored. We are located directly at the ocean. People are friendly and very relaxed. You will feel very comfortable here :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 955156937685