French speaking couple to come and join us in Saint-Cirgues, France



Favourited 85 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description



    We are Jan and Sabine. Originally from Sweden and Belgium, we are now experiencing the good life in France.

    Our humble home and restaurant are located in a small village in the Lot on the country side. In the morning we wake up with the sound of the church bells and find ourselves surrounded with birds. Special is the micro-climate with lovely springs and summers, and awesome autumns and winters. One can walk for miles without meeting a living soul, except for cows and horses.

    So if you are into action and bubbly cities, Saint-Cirgues Lot is quite the opposite!

    We are looking for an adventurous French-speaking couple with a true love for France and the Hospitality Business, a couple we can train up with as end goal to run our restaurant independently, this means without us being present all the time.

    Our interests and activities? We have many such as painting, music ( piano ), crafts, sewing, IT, board and card games, yoga, gymnastics, cycling and running, walking and enjoying the surrounding nature, learning a new recipe or a new language, travelling, meeting new people from other cultures and above all animals. We believe in rescue and adoption.

    For us every day in life is a new opportunity to learn and share.

    Our ultimate goal is total self-sustainability. Living off-grid where we live is a true challenge but doable.

    "It's impossible. But doable."
    Quote by actor Sean Connery.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You dream of having your own place with restaurant in France? With us you can experience first hand the life of owning a French home with a business.

    What else is in it for you?

    True cultural exchange. In other words, we wish to share and exchange different ideas, traditions, knowledge and skills with you. Maybe you come from a similar background, maybe you come from a completely different background than your ours.

    Key is that we learn from each other.

    We share and exchange our skills and knowledge. Jan and I are true problem-solvers, and believe there is a positive solution to every issue-

    For you wishing to learn a new language and/or improve certain language skills, we offer private lessons in French.

    If you come to us, you will receive cooking and baking lessons.

    You will be considered part of our family (we have no children) but you will be given all the freedom you need to be yourself and work on own projects. We cannot stress the latter enough. We will be both a team and family.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help


    We run a small and cosy restaurant, so ideally you have experience in and/or a profound interest in the restaurant industry.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    Independent guesthouse with all basic commodities, bathroom, 1 bedroom, living room with kitchen unit, nice sunny terrace, communal garden.
    Perfect for a couple or a young family.
    Dogs are very welcome.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in our mid fifties, but feel and act like a young couple in their mid thirties. Hard-working, very easy-going, creative, open-minded and flexible. We embrace new ideas, solutions, skills and knowledge. Of course as any other family we too have a set of basic rules that you will have to respect. Key for us is personal chemistry and teamwork.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a parking space available for you travelling in a small campervan.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Pets (dogs) are very welcome. We are huge dog lovers, and your fur angels will be part of the family.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 948792895693