DownUnder the Melbourne Sun, help at our family home

Country

Australia

Favourited 69 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/02/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are are young at heart , mature couple ,with two young adult children. We also have 3 cats and 3 small dogs .
    We live on a fabulous property surrounded by great valley views and we are trying to grow our own organic vegetables.

    Our 23 year old son is currently overseas in Canada on a working visa and in the past 3 years he has traveled extensively to many parts of the world where he too has used the work away facility.
    My daughter currently is the process to travel for the first time to Asia and part of her journey is hopefully too to find workaway as part of her travel experience.
    As parents to 2 young adults we encourage them to travel and experience the world and embrace all cultures and different lifestyles. With this , we would like our children to be safe where ever they travel and with whom they stay with.
    We therefore , we would like to give the same opportunity to overseas travellers as well as Australians the same experience to feel safe whilst travelling and also give them the same opportunity to work and save on money.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in Melbourne and only 12 min from the airport. We are very close to many public transport facilities should you need to take advantage of the facilities providing you not have a car to get around.
    With an only 3min walk to the first bus stop it virtually takes to the train station . This train can take you to the city if you need to explore our beautiful city or if you are adventurous , you do day trips to other great places around Melbourne and experience our great cafes and restaurants.
    Melbourne is a very multi cultural and diverse city.it has a great acceptance of cultural backgrounds.
    So your sure to fit in and love Melbourne.

  • Help

    Help

    Living on a large block of land can be quite challenging as there always garden maintenance, so help would be greatly appreciated to trim branches racking of leaves creating garden beds and general garden maintenance.

    There is so much to do here as our 50 year old, humble little home ,is in desperate need of maintenance .

    We appreciate travellers with any skills of carpentry, painting or plumbing an advantage to compensate for your accommodation and food provided.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a great bedroom downstairs away from the main area of the house so its quite private.
    It's a very large room as we have seperated it with a temporary partition wall should you need to share with other friends or if you dont mind sharing with other travellers.the choice is yours.
    If youd like your own privacy the seperated area has a sofa which pulls out to a sofa bed and there is aslo a desk should you need to study or use the computer.
    The room can cater for up to four guests
    We also have a little vintage caravan that has a double bed .if you wish to stay in the caravan you can save on accommmation.
    Adjacent to to the caravan we have an outdoor alfresco area where it has a tv , table to eat your meals or study from, and also we have a little french shed if you want to be self efficient and cook for yourselves.
    Again the choice is yours.
    We have a great outdoor area which is somewhat rustic surrounded by many trees and great valley views.
    There is so much to do in the garden, So if you like gardening and enjoy being outdoors, im sure youll love our place.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As mentioned we are surrounded by great transort faciliteis so getting around Melbourne is a breeze. you just need to purchase a MYKI card which is a transport card which enables you to travel on all trams, trains and buses.
    Melbourne has many great suburbs which are very different in their own ways . From cafes to bars to restaurants they all have their own individual identity to explore.
    The city of Melbourne is spectacular both during the day and night.
    We have fantastic gardens all around Melbourne CBD ( City Business District ) to explore. Southbank only minutes walk from the main city, surrounded by our beautiful Yarra River.
    From here ,you can take scenic boat tours during the day or night and embrace the wonders of the
    city.
    Queen Victoria market a 10 min tram trip from CBD .can be experienced at many times through out the week including our winter and summer night markets.
    Your Taste buds will love you for it.
    Wonderful beaches during the warmer months or just a stroll even on those cold winter months a great to explore.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 943221621592