Enjoy staying in the bush, the amazing bird and wild life whilst helping out in Koonwarra, Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/02/2021

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, I have a small permaculture property in Koonwarra, near Inverloch, South Gippsland. I live in a bush environment near the coast. Both the wild life and bird life are superb. I have veggie gardens, fruit trees, a hot house, a food storage shed and extensive native gardens, all needing some help. I follow organic principles. Until recently, I was highly involved with farmers' markets as a stall holder, using as much of my own produce as possible, so my place became a little neglected.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live a home based lifestyle in a delightful albeit sometimes challenging environment. Whilst I cherish my independence I also recognise that being in a shared household will result in better outcomes, both productively and socially, hopefully for both myself and any visitors. I look forward to meeting you, Susan.

  • Help

    Help

    I would like help to weed and mulch vegetable and native gardens as well as planting out seedlings. And as much as I love the wildlife here, they play havoc with my fruit trees. Everything has to be guarded. I have worked out a method to do this using star pickets and netting. I need help to complete this project. I also need help to renovate my timber framed hothouse and tool shed as well as relaying stone garden bed edging. And then there is always wood that needs splitting!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I built my tiny, mud brick house as an owner builder some years ago. Your accomodation is a separate, very private, lovely bungalow with delightful views. There are two small rooms, one with a double bed, the other with bunk beds, a fridge and a microwave. There is currently no bathroom, however I would love to install a composting toilet and shower. Although the house bathroom facilities are shared, there is separate and easy access. The bungalow has limited outdoor cooking facilities. You are welcome to cook either there or in the house or allow me to cook for you. Good food is imperative to me. I love cooking, largely vegetarian, however I am able to accommodate any dietary requirements.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Although the Melbourne centred VLine bus service stops in Koonwarra several times daily, there is no local public transport. So, your own car would be invaluable but not essential. I live in an amazing area. I am mid point between Phillip Island and Wilson's Promontory. Additionally, there are plenty of cafes, restaurants, galleries, walks, an extensive rail trail as well as stunning, nearby beaches.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 938436185543