Help artists of different genres with making our village shine in Rokiskis, Lithuania

Country

Lithuania

Favourited 44 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1470

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Panemunelis is a tiny village which we are trying to save from dying out and you can save it with us! We invite you to explore the wilderness of Lithuania during summer without internet, electricity and fresh water. :)
    We are a family of artists of different genres and want to make the village to shine by inviting more free souls and their ideas into the community. Perfect for free souls since our location is rural and requiers skills to live without electricity and electric heating.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the chance to:
    stay in another village closer to the Baltic Sea if you will be interested in that let us know in advance.
    Learn Lithuanian and Icelandic languages, picking herbs, drying them or sprouting
    Enjoy the wilderness (there are wild animals like deer) and cultural heritage at the same time.

  • Help

    Help

    The house is an old wooden house.
    Mostly we'd like you to help out making the are a pretty sight with your artistic expression.
    Basic work: Cut the grass. Chop wood. Collect fruits of the season. Fix various things around the house, make it more welcoming. Gardening.
    Skilled work: Carpenters skills. Paint and repair the house from outside and inside. Repair or/and build various things around the house.
    EcoArt projects: your ideas are welcome
    Share your other skills, whether it is cooking, jam making, upcycling old items, playing music, spirituality etc.

    Creative eco skills are welcome!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent
    Lithuanian: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a bed and towels and shared kitchen inside and outside.
    Showers are outside so far - clean spring water!
    Meals will be mainly vegetarian and cooked with love on most days. A plan will be made for days when you will cook yourself and when 3 meals a day will be provided.
    House with two entrances with two old style, real firewood stoves (which are also used for heating the house) and firewood which you can use.
    Bathroom - WC and shower is temporarily outside (clean spring water! yey!) and we're working on the canalization but the pipes are ready. The water is heated by the sun in a barrel. There is also a pond 2 minutes away which is safe for swimming and sunbathing.
    The rooms are warm in the summer even without heating. One bedroom is shared by the volunteers, there are two separate beds and bedsheets, chairs and wardrobe. The living room is in the process, but there is a shared space - cozy summer veranda with a table and benches and the food will be served there or in the house next door in case of bad weather.
    Meals will be mainly vegetarian and cooked with love. If you prefer to cook for us some days, it can be easily arranged.
    Overall the house is shared with us, if there are any questions, don't hesitate to ask. :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a connection to other towns which have a rich culture. for example:
    Wi-fi accessible in the library, sim-card can be provided if needed.
    You will get a tour of a local folk artists' studio and home.
    The village has a beautiful church as seen in our photos, museum of a very influential persona for Lithuania, small supermarket, library with wi-fi.

    The train stop is 3 minutes away from the house.
    10km trip to a town with historical monuments, like manors and Jewish heritage, museums, go shopping, go to a theatre and movies, etc.
    Basically, enough to do!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 921965859761