We believe in km 0 products and sustainable living. We grow our fruits & vegetables & use solar power - Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 125 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an international family that has decided to settle down in Southern Italy after having lived on three continents. I (Ursula) am an archaeologist, an author and a passionate cook. My husband Manoocher is a photojournalist who has worked around the globe and continues to work for international magazines and to share his work and life experience. Our daughter Clara attends school in Martina Franca.
    We firmly believe in km 0 products and sustainable living. Hence we grow most of our fruits and vegetables, make our own wine and olive oil, and use solar power.
    Accommodation is possible in our trullo (a traditional stone house) or in the yurt (depending on season). It is situated in our small organic subsistence farm, which includes a vineyard, a vegetable garden, fruit trees, archery facilities, as well as chicken, quails, cats and two dogs.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Other
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers can participate and learn about sustainable and traditional farming lifestyle, as well as about the history and traditions of Apulia, Southern Italy. As an archaeologist and passionate cook, Ursula is an expert in historic cooking from the region's past and present, starting from Antiquity.
    Manoocher, a National Geographic contributing photographer, will be happy to give advise on photography as well as farming.
    We speak Italian, English, German, French, Spanish, Farsi, Turkish, and Azeri.

  • Help

    Help

    We are also looking for skilled craftsmen/-women like carpenters who can help us with some projects, for example there is an antique yurt to be repaired and set up.
    As we are growing a big part of our food, there usually is gardening and farming work to do, depending of the season. We have about two acres of land on which we grow wine, wheat, fruits, vegetables, chickpeas, beans etc. We need assistance mainly in planting, harvesting, maintenance of the plantations, help with the animals, processing the harvested food, but also pruning trees, vines, and cutting fire wood.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, English, German, French, Spanish, Turkish, Farsi

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on the season, accommodation is possible in either the trullo or the yurt.
    Our trullo is an independent house which has two bedrooms, one living room, a bathroom with shower and toilet, and a vine-shaded terrace with a view over the vineyard.
    The yurt is a Mongolian round tent consisting of one room with a double bed, a fridge, and an almond-shaded terrace. The bathroom is at the main house.
    Workawayers will eat with the family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our small farm is situated in the heart of the Valle d'Itria, between the beautiful towns of Cisternino, Martina Franca, and Locorotondo. There are many beautiful places to visit around, and the sea is half an hour's drive away.
    Public transport exists but is a little scarce on the countryside. We can give a ride whenever needed and possible. From the nearest town (4km) there are well-connected trains and buses.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 921395156411