Help me realise my dream of creating a natural wildlife supporting garden in Tipperary, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I moved back to Ireland in 2019 to the stunning Glen of Aherlow and bought The Schoolhouse which is steeped in local history and held in great affection by the local community. This unique property sits beautifully at the foothills of the Galtee mountains and has done so since 1910. I feel I am the custodian of the house and during my time here I want to develop the gardens to compliment this truly wonderful property. I am looking for experienced gardeners or those willing to learn to help me realize my vision of a beautiful natural wildlife supporting garden in return for free accommodation at the house. There will be opportunities for knowledge sharing, creative and artistic development as well as experiencing a plant based diet.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living and helping out in the open in The Glen is a peaceful and nourishing experience. Taking time to watch the colours change in the landscape or how the light falls on the hills cannot fail to calm the soul and uplift ones spirits. The privilege of living in this unique space offers an abundance of artistic inspiration, gratitude for a life lived well and the opportunity to work in harmony with nature.

  • Help

    Help

    I am interested in hosting gardeners who can share their knowledge with me as well as physically sharing the tasks in order to realise the dream of a natural wildlife supporting garden.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private 2 bedroom self contained accommodation in the schoolhouse. Mealtimes and food can be shared together however my vegan lifestyle may not be for everyone.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are fabulous trails and walks right on the doorstep step as well as historical sights such as the rock of Cashel and Cahir Castle are all within easy reach. Lesser known gems such as holy springs and stunning mountain views are just precious. Closer to home the plethora of natures bounty is ever present in the school boreen.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 917155921419