Help create an artistc smallholding near the town of Serta, Portugal

Country

Portugal

new host  

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are two people and a dog setting up our small holding in the hills in Portugal.

    I'm Laurence i'm a 28 year old professional musician and Phoebe is my partner and she is also 27 and a dancer/Musician

    We have been travelling musicians for the past 5 years but stumbled across this house and decided to set up a space where we can grow food, rehearse, record and play music as well as welcome people and work on other artistic projects.

    We tour our show in the summer and come to the house in the Autumn to work on the project and enjoy the nature and simple way of life here. We also go busking and do some local gigs.

    We play blues, jazz, folk etc as well as enjoying meals and dancing.

    We are interested to make a low impact space with organic growing, I'm researching about forest gardening at the moment and we also like building with found and recycled materials wherever possible. I have a workshop where i build things for the house and fix up instruments and make other things.

    we are on half an acre so enough space to enjoy relaxing in the garden and enough space to come up with projects and build things. The house is cosy and set in the mountains with lovely views across the hills, We are in a little village where people are growing food and we have goat neighbours and other animals around the village such as the pigs we like to go and see.

    We are interested in all things creative and also enjoy learning about the land management. I am a kean D.I.Yer and have enjoyed learning about ltraditional building methods, building with glass bottles and tires, Making things from pallets and reclaimed materials ect.

    We are walking distance from The town of serta which has bars, restaurants, shops, river beach, pool etc

    The place is very peaceful and relaxing and we like to go on walks with the dog and get involved with things going on in the community.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We play music and dance so you can get involved in that, we love meeting other musicians and jamming. We are constantly learning on the project so can learn lots together through building and gardenning projects with space for creativity and experimentation. I play a lot of instruments and am happy to teach people. most of what we do is using salvaged and recycled materials so you can get involved in that and we can share ideas.

    We are both professional musicians and artists and enjoy to discuss and share ideas and practices. We are also making studio spaces for dance and art so you can explore your own creative practice here and we will try and help facillitate this where we can as that is the aim of this place.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for some extra hands around the place to help with projects. Some things we have on the to do list are to dig a french drain, Build a rammed earth tyre wall, Strip off some cement to re-point the original stone, Paint the house, re-point the stonework on the goat house, Make a natural roof for the workshop.

    Most of the work we need to do is quite physical so you will need to be fit but there is a lot of time to enjoy the place and relax and we can also work to your strengths and work on projects that we can all enjoy and have some creative input on.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are learning portuguese so If anyone would like to get involved in that maybe we can swap lessons.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a schisht house which we have been renovating and is at a very comfortable standard. you can have your own room and we can supply clean bedding.
    We share a bathroom and living space and all share responsibillity to keep this clean.

    we enjoy to eat meals together and you can get involved with cooking too if you like. We have a wood burner in winter which is nice to cook on and keep the house cosy - we eat vegetarian food and can supply you with healthy meals and lots of nice fruit from the garden - we also make our own olive oil to cook with

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots of space around us to walk and explore in the forests. There are also several loveley river beaches near by where you can swim. We are walking distance from serta where there is quite a lot going on at bars and things. We have tools in our workshop and you can spend time on your own projects when we're not working.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have very good fibre-optic broadband so you can use this as you like when not working on the project we are also interested in creative projects and are open to ideas for collaborations and projects whilst you're here

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have space to park a camper. If you are happier staying in your van we have an oputside toilet and tap so you can fill up and use that loo easilly and also wash your clothes in the washing machine if you want. We live in our van in the summer and were living in it full time for 5 years before we got this house so understand about vans and are very welcoming. I have also done out several campers so if you want to do some work on van interiors i can help you with this and have some tools and experience with solar, light weight building, water pumps and all that stuff as have done out a few vans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have a friendly dog who loves playing with other dogs. The land is fenced so we can accept a well behaved dog or two - other pets might be considered if you ask

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 916578527373