Help a musician with gardening and get lost in the country, Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria

Country

Bulgaria

Favourited 117 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    45
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/11/2019

 
  • Description

    Description

    After being away for a while I am now back in Bulgaria I am from the UK, in my early thirties and recently bought a house in Bulgaria after 4 years on the road.

    My husband is a musician; he plays the piano, guitar, mandolin, fiddle and singing saw. I am a writer, I write mainly poetry, some fiction and travel guides. We love traveling, before living in Bulgaria we toured with his band across Europe busking and sleeping rough.

    We have a small house, a big garden, 2 dogs and a cat. The dogs are very friendly and energetic. We are extremely laid back people. We like meeting people and need some help in the garden which is why we are signing up. We can offer a bedroom and the same food we eat in return for a little help. We generally eat breakfast and dinner, but not much in between but of course our food is your food.

    I am looking for people who are keen to get stuck in with gardening, mowing, weeding - the works! I don't have many tools so hands on folk would be awesome. I work 40 hours a week as a travel writer so am mainly chained to my desk throughout the day and not much assistance.

    if you are a good soul you are welcome here.

    Our village is tiny, think one shop , one bar...but loads of countryside walks, we don't go into town too much (unless for a special reason). We do have internet but its super slow, and often can't be used during the day as I use it for work, and two computers on one internet connection here means death of the internet.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Art Projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need lots of weeding, our garden was a jungle when we arrived and we have been slowly getting it down. The garden is really the main thing, maybe some odd building jobs here and there - nothing heavy. We are interested in having artists as we love to add color to our home. We may struggle to find five hours of work a day, but its cool if you like to chill out and do some work here and there, happy with your own company, then it will be right. I work from home all day, but will mainly be typing away on the computer most of the day.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a big garden if you want to pitch up a tent, otherwise we also have a spare bedroom in the house with a double bed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have never had volunteers before, we find it best not to have expectations and just take people how they come. We do smoke in our home though so please bear this in mind.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Whatever


Host ref number: 916385417862