Come and help me with re-activating 200 year old farm and organic garden in the heart of Northern Saxony, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 27 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Since a few years I am re-activating a 200 year old farm stead in the heart of Northern Saxony. Most of the construction work is mainly done by professional companies, but a lot of helping hands are required around a farmstaed this size. (We have at least 750 sqm buildings on a plot of more than 3.000 sqm). I am a professional landscape architect, working all over the world. I travelled almost a hunderd countries and love nature an adventure. I usually always have friends and family members around for help or just for fun. Enjoy with us while we are creating a place for organic farming, cultural events, living & working in the countryside- and space for a lot of joy and unforgettable experiences! Any kind of useful help is appreciated. In the long run, I am planning to fund a non-profit organisation that can help to raise funds for the restauration works or even to run the farm, but that is still a long way off. For now, it is just me- and You and the other workawayers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am an internationally regarded landscape architect and a bit of an "adventurer", "author", and "artist", who has seen almost a hundred countries and the stories, me and my friends tell by the campfire can make your head spin. I act in the spirit of cultural exchange and believe that life is a journey of transformation, that you can bring out your full potential through experience and development.

    In the near and far region, there are plenty of cultural sites to visit - which sometimes we can do together... From Renaissance- (1600) or Barock- Castles (1700) , to stoneage findings (10.000 AD) to traditional country style life. While the crazy night life of Berlin where you can hear international artists and see the night being turned into day, is just 2,5 hours driving away- yet night life in my farm means: You will hear a bug walking in the grass and you can watch the milky way in a cloudless night! Exception to the rule: Once per year in the summer there is the "Nacht digital", the largest electro-music festival in Europe (similar like burning man), just behind the next hill: In those few nights you will fall asleep with music on your ears.

    Our Australian friends have a castle two villages away where there are usually also plenty of workawayers from around the world, with which you can connect. (Bring your own vehicle, take a bike from me or borrow my car under certain circumstances)

    My friends and I like a philosophy of liberalism, meaning, if you have a certain religion or world view you can have it- but let the others have their´s, too.
    I live environmentally conscious! Avoiding garbage where possible, saving water and energy, protecting natural diversity, trying to minimize the ecological footprint. You are welcome to join in and learn a lot!

  • Help

    Help

    There is plenty of work required to transform a ruined old farmstead into a beautiful heritage protected gem again. Dont worry- the really hardest work I have done allready. Throughout the last years there were tons of garbage removed and in 2018, with excavators we have torn up the ground so that finally, the nature can take over the place again.
    The actual construction work has been and will be done by professional builders. But on top of that I can use any kind of help that you might be able to offer: From starting the organic garden (no animals yet) to house keeping... You can also support the building tasks inside the houses with your own hands and learn a lot by doing so. It depends much on your interest, skills and preferrences what you could support me with, but here is a selection of works that I am planning to do in 2019:

    1) Building wooden deck/terrace next to the fish pond, building guest cabin on deck/ prepare construction of fish pond and plunge basin (general helping hands required for carpentry/landscaping works)

    2) Building garden wall around organic garden (helping hands for masonry)

    3) Initiating the organic garden/ Improving soil quality with manure, compost, mulch, etc, starting to grow crops (helping hands in gardening)

    4) Re-construction works in 200 year old farm houses with mud and wood (helping hands for construction works)

    5) General house keeping tasks: To support the construction workers, help us in preparing meals, setting table, cleaning dishes, etc. (We eat mostly organic & fair trade. We do eat meat, but Vegetarians and Vegans are welcome, too)

    6) Possibly social & organising skills: I have many friends and likewise minded people coming for visits throughout the summer- you could support in translating where needed and helping them getting organised, wayfinding, sight-seeing-excursions, preparing accomodations, and so forth

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English ++ / Danish, Norwegian + / Kisuaheli, Arabic, French, Spanish -

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The first usable guest room was prepared in 2018, but it´s tiny and there is no door- so its only good for close friends. In the near future, there shall be a garden cottage with Sauna that sleeps up to 3 during summer time. In the far future we have a whole building ready to house visitors, guests and workawayers- but thats still a dream.

    In 2019, until we get there, we will find accomodation for you in the small hotels and private places around the village, so that you are sound.

    There will be always at least 3 meals available for you!
    BREAKFAST: If I accomodate you in a small hotel nearby (the guest rooms are not finished yet), there will be breakfast included anyway / If you are accomodated in a rented room, you can shop your own breakfast items along with our shopping at our costs ...assuming you don´t need caviar EVERY day ;-) ... or better you can eat breakfast with us- your choice.
    LUNCH: Since preparing lunch is time consuming during the work day, usually the lunch break consists of a snack only (sandwiches, fruits, ...) If there is a workawayer eager to prepare proper lunches, even better. However- there is always plenty of food around, and you can eat as often and as much as you feel.
    DINNER: This is usually the main meal of the day after work. Often we will go to eat (good food) in nearby restaurants, sometimes we do our own barbeque (steaks, saucages, salads), sometimes its tapas, snacks or sandwiches and here and there we even take a pizza or vietnamese food from the road. When we cook, we try to be as organic, as fair trade, as regional as possible and from 2019 we even might have our first own crops growing! Again: You will not be hungry. Ever.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transport can be organised, Bicycle, car pickups, whatever is required. A bus takes you to the nearest towns, from there you can reach any city and airport in Central Europe within hours. We are 2,5 hours from Prague, 2,5 hours from Berlin and 1 hour each from Dresden and Leipzig. If you have a driving license and are well behaved, you might borrow a car under certain circumstances. I dont have previous experience with workawayers, except, I did similar stuff when I was young myself. You will be going to be (one of) the first. But in a nearby village is a castle that is owned by our friends and there, you usally find plenty more workawayers to meet.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 914188149197