Learn about herbal and citrus plants, new handy man skills and general maintenance on our farm, in Groot Marico, South Africa

Country

South Africa

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My hubby, Rob, and myself, Lynnie, took early retirement in 2015 and found our piece of heaven here on our farm, in Groot Marico, North West Province, South Africa. Our mentally and physically disabled son (now 41) joined us in 2016. We built 3 cottages on the farm and welcome guests in our self catering cottages. Our main attraction on the farm, other than lovely cottages, are our unpolluted skies which makes star gazing and unbelievable experience and our beautiful pristine Groot Marico River that runs through the farm. We have a citrus orchard with 150 citrus trees, some pecan nut and fig trees trees, poultry, and medicinal herbal plants. We offer peace and tranquility and beautiful nature surroundings in the UNESCO approved Marico Biosphere.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about herbal/citrus harvesting and making various products. Learn great handy man skills. Develop a value of patience with time spent with our physically and mentally challenged 41 year old son. Respect for our unspoilt nature and UNESCO approved biosphere. Make new friends with the villagers. Improve your language skills if you are a foreigner (we speak English and Afrikaans and our farm labourer Tswana). Explore our amazing offerings in and around Groot Marico. Embracing UBUNTU (do onto others what you would want others do unto you)

  • Help

    Help

    Maintaining walking paths along the river and farm/general farm maintenance/helping with any possible new projects being undertaken/harvesting of herbs and making various products/picking citrus and making products/ad hoc assistance with our mentally and physically challenged 41 yrs old son/gardening/painting/pruning citrus trees/cutting up firewood/feeding our poultry and dogs/taking our dogs for walks/using our vehicle to run various errands/spring cleaning/assisting with washing dishes after evening meals in the main farmhouse/preparing your own breakfast and lunch with food provided by us/picking up pecan nuts and shelling these (small scale)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Afrikaans: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One private cottage that sleeps 4 (2 privately and 2 in open plan area but we will predominantly only accommodate 2 at any one time). It has a private bedroom with a double bed and en suite bathroom. An outdoor bathroom that has a shower and toilet. Fully equipped kitchen. Open plan kitchen/sitting/dining room area with a splash pool and undercover braai/barbecue area. There is an indoor fireplace for those cold winter nights and a tv with dvd player (no DSTV so bring your own dvd's/cd's/movies). There are 2 single beds in the open plan area. Private entrance and private garden. We provide breakfast and lunch meals that the volunteers prepare themselves in the privacy of their cottage. Evenings we get together to enjoy a hearty meal together in the main farmhouse.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Unfortunately there is no reliable and safe transportation beyond Groot Marico and surrounds. If you do not have your own transport then cycling is really the only option available, but you may meet new friends and get around with them or travel around with us over weekends. Free time would see you walking, hiking (and spotting various game along your walks like giraffe, sable, warthog, kudu etc), reading, cycling, exploring the village 9 kms away or picnicing/fishing at the Groot Mario River that flows through the farm. The Groot Marico Eye is a heritage site where you can swim/snorkel/scuba dive and is 30 kms away. There is yoga/drumming/museums/war sites etc within close proximity of Groot Marico (for your won cost and arranging)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have safe parking for any caravan, camper, vehicle, motorbike/other

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    You are welcome to bring a pet friendly dog along - 2 at the most. They need to be well socialised and trained and consideration must be given to our 2 farm dogs, Misty & Neo (cross between ridgeback and boerboel). You need to provide your own bedding and food for your dog/dogs and they are welcome to sleep inside the cottage, but not allowed on any of the furniture. A laundry fee will be charged if dogs spoil any furniture or bedding.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (3.5)

Cultural exchange: (3.5)

Communication: (3.5)





Host ref number: 897641325246