Garden maintenance in the Blue Mountains, NSW

Country

Australia

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/05/2017

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm a mum, full time at present, and i'm undertaking a social work degree. My child is 2.5 years old; he is fun and vibrant. We live in a very large, well functioning shared household. Our home is beautiful; some of the house is over 100 years old. We have high pressed metal ceilings, 2 bathrooms, 2 living spaces, a large, open-plan kitchen-dining-hang out space etc. We have chickens and a very friendly dog (she is mostly outside).
    The home is warm and relaxed= everyone is kind and friendly. Currently my son and I share with one other woman. It is definitely not overcrowded.
    Heating! (most important for these parts)= central gas heating and wood fire places.

    ....Oh! and a massive established MAGICAL garden :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will be able to explore the AMAZING 'Blue Mountains' which is basically on our doorstep here. The famous "three sisters" is a 5 minute drive from my residence. We are surrounded by famous national parks where people can undertake activities such as 'rock climbing', canyoning etc. There are many bush walks for all fitness levels. We are also a 1.5 hour train ride from Sydney.

    Living on our property is an aboriginal man who is always open to sharing information about his wonderful culture. Furthermore, myself and my housemate are nature lovers and can take our guests to great scenic places including water (swimming) holes, look outs, 'off the beaten track' walks etc.

  • Help

    Help

    The garden has had no real maintenance for approx. one year so lots of weeding and pruning is needed. TLC basically :) I would also love to have the garden beds mulched after the weeding is completed. No strenuous physical labour required (that is- no landscaping needed as it is already established), just persistence.
    The garden is what one may call an "english garden". Lots of exotic, cool climate species such as camelia's, azalea's etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One large, beautiful bedroom with a queen sized bed, views to the garden, north facing (great sunny position), high ceiling etc. Has a small desk, chair and lamps. This accommodation is not separate to the house, however, the bedroom is in a fairly quiet area of the house and there's plenty of room in the house to find your own space when needed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is SOOOO much to do in your time off (as mentioned in another section). Just google 'Blue Mountains NSW Australia' and have a look. It is spectacular here..... Oh, and if you're not much of a nature lover, our town is called 'Leura' & it's a very popular place for tourists. There are many great restaurants, cafe's, boutique shops, pub, wine bars etc. Everything is very pretty!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The three sisters

Host ref number: 894175448572