Help with our family in a beautiful village in San Joaquin de Flores, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5, my wife and my 2 children (9 and 13) and my mother (77). We have a cat y 3 chickens. We strive to sow values in our children that make them good citizens of the world, therefore, we hope to interact with travelers who add to our purpose. In addition, there will be no option for alcohol consumption, smoking or any other drugs o vice because here it is not we make.
    In our house you will find a lot of green, flowers and depending on the time of year, you can eat mandarins and mangoes from our own garden. As part of the family business, we offer rooms for rent for long periods to single people, with good habits and manners, who end up being part of our family.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Elderly Companionship
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the opportunity to improve your Spanish and live with an authentic TICA family, learn about our customs, enjoy typical food and hobbies that we do as a family, such as: playing the piano, singing Karaoke and walking. In return, we would like you, in addition to supporting us in our English, to share with us what you love most about your culture.

  • Help

    Help

    We are interested in doing this exchange with native English speaking people who are willing to help us with minor tasks in the general maintenance of the house, cleaning and garden arrangement as necessary and with social skills to interact with our children.
    In addition, they would be of high interest to us, if you can teach piano or give support with ideas and experiences in good practices in projects oriented to empowerment and community development, environmental protection, self-sustainable agriculture.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room with shared common areas, wifi. We offer food according to tastes, you can also cook your own food

    Habitación con areas en comun compartidas, wifi,

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a town in the province of Heredia 15 minutes by car from the Juan Santamaria airport, the main one in the country and one hour from San José.
    Public transport is excellent (buses and train), so you can easily schedule your visits to tourist sites in the area, such as: Volcanoes, beaches, spas, rivers, pools, waterfalls and all the other tourist options that Costa Rica offers. because this is a small country.
    In our town, flowers are everywhere, as are fruits such as guavas, mangoes and Chinese tamarind, among others, that you can pick while walking through town., servicio social, etc...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 893829564926