Come and help on our family farm in Loire valley, France

Country

France

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4 people and we live on a farm in the Loire valley (center East of France). My husband Jean Michel (58) and myself, Odile (52) are farmers and we breed charolais cows in a sustainable way. We have two children, Emmanuel (13) and Marie Eve (8). We have a very friendly dog, and 8 cats, 65 cows and a few hens.
    We have a bed and breackfast in our house and we sell product from the farm directly to the customers, mostly meat (and vegetables during spring and summer).

    Our farm spreads on 100 ha, mostly grazing land, with a lot of hedges and some woods, and we have 2 vegetables gardens that provide us most of the vegetables we eat. With 2 kids at home, there is always a lot to do :). We would like to share this life with people from abroad.

    This is the perfect place for those who like nature, good food and who want to experience the tipical life on a french farm.

    Coming and join us doesn't require much experience, just motivation and happiness !
    Hope to see you soon :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We really enjoy sharing the day to day family and farm life with people who are keen to experience it. We love to share and teach how to care about animals on the farm, how to grow vegetables and how to cook the traditional local dishes.
    There are also a lot of authentic villages around and a great architectural and gastronomical heritage that we will be happy to show to our helpers.
    With our farm life, we don't get to travel that much, hosting people from abroad makes it possible for us to discover new cultures, different way of living.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for 1 or 2 volunteers that could help us 4 hours per day from 2 weeks to a month (with days of of course!). We have room for more people so if you are a family, you are welcome here.

    Our volunteers tasks would be taking care of the animals (mostly feeding the cows, helping when they calf, checking if they are allright when they are grazing), rebuilding some old fences, choping wood, fixing tools or gardening.
    We always have something going on here, anytime of year :)

    If you have some outwork experience it would be appreciated but we are ok with beginners. Motivation and openmindness are really what we expect from our volunteers.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As an accomodation we have 3 spacious individual bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and our house have free access internet. Our house is big and there is space for everyone in it :)
    We will provide all the food (that mostly comes from our own production) and share the meals with our helpers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is 15 minutes driving from the nearest train station where we can pick you up (Roanne). There is a lot to do around here if you like nature, hiking, cycling or cultural discovery and we will be happy to share it with you. We are sorry but we only speak french at the moment (a friend of us is helping us with the translation online :) ), so if you don't speack a little bit of french, we won't be able to host you. Maybe we will in a few years after hosting many volunteers from abroad !

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.


Host ref number: 891864869529