Web/ Social Media developer for a hostel in Colombia

Country

Colombia

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/08/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    529

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a coffee farm 7km away from Pereira-Colombia.we are a legally registered Hostel Making bike tours, hiking, and other outdoor activities and of course the whole coffee proccess from the fields to the cup. Ready to export. My biggest concern is about web design, social media and finding the way to bring more income to keep this project going, I have to much work outside and I'm really outdated about techs. My goal for this year is to keep this place open, just reading our guest's book I realize that I can't give up with this dream. This is a lovely place with a huge potential due to our prime coffee, the unique spots that I Know around and the increasing demand for adventure in the region.We are a couple 45-41 years old. We love cooking local and explore other flavors and tastes, so bring your spices and stuff and we can explore fusions and why not create a hit.
    We live here with our pets, 4 dogs, 3 cats, and other wildlife visitors sometimes, we have book exchange and a lot of easy reading books in spanish, dictionaries and stuff to learn little spanish here while cooking or helping with some last minute duty like painting a new wall or bringing the salad from the garden. easy public transportation, convinience stores around, pharmacy, supermarket, atm machines.

    Due to weather conditions, here you never know when it's going to rain, so schedules and plans can change in a minute. At first, people feel frustrated and dissapointed but when you realize that there is no reason to believe 100% what a forecast app shows you, everything start going well. One thing for sure is that you won't have a minute hanging around with nothing to do, birdwarching, having a swim in the river, opening a new bike tour, etc.
    Just need some help to keep this paradise going and we will feed you, nurse you and send you back home at least speaking a good and useful slang spanish.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are located in a environmental and archeological protected area (Consota River) ancient Quimbaya's main salt mine is just 3km down the Road, this area has been the main commercial hub connecting first the different indigenous families with intrincate trails and paths crossing the central mountain range to trade with the Muiscas, Pijaos and other families from Magdalena Valley and Sabana de Bogotá at Eastern Mountain Range, to South West with Nasa, Paeces and to NorthWest with Embera Chamies and many other cultures, Then during Spanish Conquest the trails were used to connect royal provinces in south like Quito and Popayan with SantaFe de Antioquia near Medellin, Tunja and Bogota. Then Antioquena and Cauca colonizations used the trails to expand their plantations and economy to what is nowadays the main coffee district in Colombia. Trails has become in the main roads we use today, some are still in service as secondary unpaved roads, narrow trails to connect the villages in the National Park and others are still just hidden on the bushes or simply desappeared.
    We will go back on time at nights to study and discuss about history to understand better our roots and culture.

    Home of almost 1.900 species (nearly one fifht of the world total), Colombia hosts the highest number of birds than any country in the world. Our surrounding highlands are dominated by numerous volcanoes in 600 square Km, all located in one of the biggest National Parks in Colombia known as PNN Los Nevados. We are located in the western slope of the central Andes having 3 classic sites for birding above the main cities such Pereira, Armenia y Manizales. Main Bird Festival takes place in Pereira in March every year.

  • Help

    Help

    Need a Web/ Social Media developer
    We already have a website but outdated and without any content.
    Have lots of pictures and videos but I don't know how to choose the right material to show up and succeed.
    The idea is organize all that media stuff to choose the right pics and videos to use them in the advertising. If you have a drone will be great to film river courses or explore ancient trails.
    Better if having driver license to help me a bit with the jeep while doing videos and photography.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Shared Room (4px) or (2px)
    Shared WC with hot shower 24hr
    Wifi
    Sattelite TV to keep in touch with late news and main sport events
    Guest's kitchen.
    Laundry service.
    Spaced living rooms all around property, wide gardens with isolated spots for birdwarching, yoga, excercise or just to be alone for a while.
    Always fresh roasted coffee
    BBQ, fireplace.
    Very quite place. No party, No drugs, No liquor abuse, we don't accept escorts or ocational visitors with the guests.
    We cook both local & fusion making emphasis in good balance including lots of vegetables, fish, chicken, and meat.
    A french neighbor provides me with fresh bread every morning if needed, we always have a bunch of fruit from the garden and if you are vegan or have an specific diet, let me know in advance to make it possible.
    Breakfast is our main meal, incluiding cereal, fruit, eggs, bread, bacon, etc.
    Lunch with soup, rice or pasta, protein (meat, chicken, tofu, etc) baked potatoes, salad, lots of salad, fruit juice, piece of cake.
    At evening we eat lighter, sort of bread and toasts, maybe some leftovers, hot chocolate or coffee.
    For more elaborated food ask in advance but is not included in the offer.
    You can also bring your oun goods from the market and cook yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Birdwatching
    Hiking
    Bicycle
    Travel around main cities and tourist attractions.
    Photography, there is a sunsets factory just steps away your bed. Don't even mention sunrises.
    You will need is time and space in you camera
    Interact with neighbors.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 888946331112